April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Side Factor

by zazery - Jam Entry

The Side Factor explores the idea of creating a turn based strategy game with a minimal number of units. There is only one kind of unit. The core mechanic is shooting through things.

See the Web (Unity) link for instructions on how to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Graphics(Jam)4.00
#77Innovation(Jam)3.59
#99Overall(Jam)3.62
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#195Audio(Jam)3.17
#208Mood(Jam)3.15
#378Theme(Jam)2.97
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

I want to play the board game version of this but it wouldn't be the same without the lasers! One thing - I still seemed to be able to use the disabled ships. Is this intended?

zazery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00am

Yes, disabled pieces can't deal damage except indirectly by pushing a ship into the plasma barrier. They are still useful after they are disabled and you get an additional action because of it too.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Very cool game, and the shoot through mechanic was a nice touch.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Lasers make everything better. Fun game.

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Cool Game!

It'd be nice if the damage stacked?; as far as i can tell if i say, shoot through the side of one, and also push the enemy into the barrier in the same shot they only take one damage?

Other than that, great art and sound. Cool idea.

Maybe for Post LD you could add an AI or networking as well, or maybe larger maps?

None of that detracts from the current game, in fact some of that might have made it not fit within the theme as well. Just some suggestions for later, i'd love to see this developed further.

Great job!

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Thanks for the feedback. Damage stacks but the only scenario where it's possible is if you amplify through multiple allied ships. I think it might be more intuitive if pushing and damaging could both happen.

For a post-jam version I'm first planning to balance and tweak gameplay. If it's solid I'll consider adding networking and writing AI. Interesting thought about other types of maps.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

very cool and great graphics -- add some AI and you got something there. great job!

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38am

That was really well done. Nice job.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:45am

Wow this is great. It's a complete game that people could really get into the strategy. The graphics are great. Toward the end I found out you can amplify your beam by shooting through your own guys. Amazing!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:20am

Man, your game is so FUNNY! Me and my wife play this game for hours hahahaha It's amazing game. I thing you can evolve this concept and publish. Congrats!

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:28am

Looks like it would be really cool, but it's hard to get into the strategy when I'm playing against myself.

D3zmodos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I like the idea, and lasers always help :P

Wasn't such a fan of the way that you could only turn 90 degrees in 1 direction though.

Elrobo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:37am

Neat concept. Wish I had someone to play against, but the game systems feel very polished. Nice work.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:37am

Very cool set of rules, and the game is extremely polished. I don't have anyone to play with right this moment, but I'm already extremely impressed just playing around with the mechanics alone. Looking forward to pulling in friend to try this for real!

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Cool game. Nice mechanics and well executed.

vilya says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Good little game! Would be even better with an AI opponent to play against.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]