April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

M as in Miner

by greenbeanbazooka - Jam Entry

M as in Miner.
Collect squares by detonating bombs of the appropriate color.

You pick up bombs by clicking on them, or as collateral from an explosion.
You deploy bombs from the inventory by pressing 1-8 or by clicking on them.

The levels load a bit slow...

About the jam entry in general, this says it all :) : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=22620


-- UPDATE 1: 2013-04-30
Ooops, forgot to deploy the game to the server. Realised this about 13h after deadline. Feel free to downrate because of this :). Or at least make sarcastic comments as HelkeGames did :).

-- UPDATE 2: 2013-05-02 19:30 UTC
I fixed the loading issue, it's now 128^2 times faster :), (more like 10 times faster actually), and should only take like a second now. Also beefed up the perimiter, fixed a click bug in the top left corner, and moved the spawn location a bit deeper to make sure it always spawns stuck. Feel free to rate based on either version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#278Innovation(Jam)2.94
#361Theme(Jam)3.03
#388Audio(Jam)2.28
#398Humor(Jam)1.60
#479Mood(Jam)2.19
#506Overall(Jam)2.44
#518Graphics(Jam)2.13
#528Fun(Jam)2.00

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

Nice game, well done ;)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

Bit glitchy, but more interesting than it appears from the start. I like the style.

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Interesting, although the entire interface, etc. was very confusing and it took me 5 mins to work it out :) Other than that, not that bad a game.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25pm

The inertia on the mouse control is a bit strange but the game is pretty playable. It's a bit hard to figure out what we're supposed to do... but after a little time, it begins to be quite fun. Nice entry :)

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Really interesting mechanic (once I'd finally figured it out!), but it could definitely use some additional instructions or changes to the UI - since the art is so abstract it took me a while to realise the circles were the bombs I was supposed to be collecting.

Hume says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Started stuck in a wall, couldn't pick up anything, circles didn't do anything, no indication of what color maps to what number.

After I blew something up I was able to move around until time ran out. I scored 498 for my effort.

I think you needed more time, and I needed more instructions.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Cool idea man! Really fits the theme, the motion is fluid and well controlled. I had to fiddle for a bit to figure out what to do, but once I figured out what I was doing it was fun.

And I like how you took it in your stride that you forgot to upload it in time ;) .

docix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51pm

A little hard to play as my miner was going hyper-sonic.
Not sure if that was my fault or not.
Also, not entirely sure whats going on with the menus.
Just needs a little polish and in-game explanation.
Certainly would have helped me understand it a bit more.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I really like the art style. The movement makes me very dizzy though :)

May 2, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Thanks for all the great comments!

To make the game feel a bit "bigger", i decided to be a bit sparse on the instructions :). The game isn't finished and adding an exploration aspect gave it some more depth :).

You always spawn stuck on the first level at the moment. The original plan was to make that the only obstacle on the first level, and have some in-game instructions on how to get loose, but didn't have time to implement in-game instructions.

The inventory fills up by type at the first empty slot, which means that you don't have enough room for bombs and squares of all colors, which means you'll have to focus on some colors. Because of that there can't be static slots for all the different types.
I thought about having the inventory behave as a stack and let it collapse to the left whenever a slot became empty - but then you can't use muscle memory to trigger the different slots - since they would move around a bit more.

I had some plans to introduce more players, either AI or multiplayer, and make the bombs hurt players of that color as well, which is why there are more colours than slots in the inventory. Then you wouldn't be able to defend yourself against all other players, you'd have to resort to unload and stash your loot somewhere etc.

The control is a bit problematic. It used to be that you clicked to set a target, which is a bit more tablet/mobile-centric, but that was even harder to use, especially with a mouse. I think Ive got a better solution in the works though.

Boiúna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I took a little time to figure out how the gameplay works. But since i figured it out, the game became much better. The problem is that it loads very slowly. =/

May 2, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I fixed a nasty bug wrt the loading. Loading/building a level is pretty expensive, but shouldn't have been that expensive :).

Ariake81 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

difficult to understand how to play on, but becomes quite addictive as you start to get it. like the inertia and the graphix fit the theme

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]