April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mountain

by Kimeric Labs - Jam Entry

...aaaand it's done!
We're Kimeric Labs, a new small studio, and we decided to take a break from our main game to give this Ludum Dare a go. Also, we wanted to test the use of Unity for a 2D game, so this was kind of a hardcore do-or-die lesson for all of us.

Anyway, this is Mountain, a 2D platformer game that is not so much minimalistic as it is about minimalism. Play it and you'll understand :)

Lots and lots of room for future improvement (and lots of bug fixing), so we might fine-tune stuff in the future. Great experience overall, fun times, all kinds of learning and a finished game. So mission accomplished!

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Loved the look of the game, but the gameplay was too slow for me. Crank the character's animation speed up 3 or 4 times and it will play a lot better.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

That's a Unity Web Player in the "Web" link, right? Because I only see a black page (Chrome, Linux).

numpad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Looked good. Really boring, slow gameplay. Nice music in the background.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

The end could use some more punch. I liked it as a whole even though the transitions took to long. I was about to stop playing for about 10 times. But it did look so compelling so i did wounder whats the next step is. I liked the art!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10am

Animations are too slow. Feels like you are in some low gravity environment. Music is nice.

stromchin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:00pm

The keys were a bit confusing. But it was nice in the end, I liked the graphics

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:14am

Compelling game play! love the art

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:02am

Visual style and audio are excellent. I found the controls a bit stiff.

burtlo says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I enjoyed your team's execution on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]