April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Everybody Fail

by ncgames - Jam Entry

Tricky minigames designed using just three rectangles. Fail. Fail. Fail.

Once you've got the idea, press M for different game modes - streaks, high scores, and individual games.

Let's see if anyone can beat my 12-shot streak in basketball.

by John Plewe at Nevercenter (@ncgames)



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#12Theme(Jam)4.33
#105Fun(Jam)3.38
#122Humor(Jam)2.86
#140Overall(Jam)3.48
#149Innovation(Jam)3.35
#319Mood(Jam)2.77
#390Graphics(Jam)2.78
#456Audio(Jam)1.40

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

Love the simplicity.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

Haha, that was fun. Fail, fail, fail.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

Well, won every minigame. At first I thought it was going to quick, but the repetition made it easier. Acctually quite fun!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

I enjoyed - basketball one was the toughest I thought, with golf a close second. Didn't fail a single driving game though.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

Nice one!

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

Name lies, I won ;)

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15am

Can't access any of the binaries. Web works.

arcades are rare and hard to execute as you need to put soo much work into them. you've done well and the minimalism certainly helped. good work.

i failed. almost everytime.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Really interesting use of minimalism. The basketball game was probably the hardest one.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06am

@ananasblau thanks! looking into it

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Very nice, I like the idea of minigames following certain design restrictions (like using only three rectangles). The game modes make this game more interesting.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:34am

So simple but so cool.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

This really suits the theme. Awesome idea, similar to Wario Ware on the Nintendo Platforms.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

The three rectangles on screen at any one time was a really interesting limitation to put on yourself, and it resulted in multiple fun quick games to play. Well done.

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Loved the style, fits the theme superb!

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Very much like Warioware. I love your self-imposed restrictions on the art.

yokcos700 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

It seems that sometimes, Basketball is impossible. I'm probably wrong, but that's the impression I'm getting. Other than that, great game! Could use more minigames, but then again, it was only a 72 hour jam.

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:15am

That game destroy my self esteem, heehehe.
Great mini-games you have here. Minimalistic at all.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:13am

Loved it! Spent more time playing this than most of the other games I've played (100+). Great job in keeping with the theme, but keeping it fun!

May 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Not bad, but somwhow I never know exactly what button to use for each action... that could be refined in a future version!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]