April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lines

by albertnez - Jam Entry

This is the first time I take part in Ludum Dare. I wanted to make a very simple game in javascript using canvas, and this is the result.
The game is simple yet entertaining, you are a cube and have to dodge the gaps by jumping pressing the Spacebar (The longer you press, the higher you jump!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Theme(Jam)4.20
#157Audio(Jam)3.31
#160Fun(Jam)3.21
#230Overall(Jam)3.26
#252Graphics(Jam)3.29
#390Innovation(Jam)2.58
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

meek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

This game rocks. Love how smooth it is. Love the simplistic 'mute' button haha

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Very fun and simple. I like the way the platforms dynamically change shape as the get closer towards you. Gives it a little bit more of a risk factor when jumping towards the next platform.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Wow, this game is super hard. A lot of the jumps aren't makeable. Kept wondering if I as missing something. My highest score was 6. Is there a double-jump?

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

A great little game, I got to 40 points. I loved how the lines changed even when I was on top of them, and the only thing I would change is making the player go faster as you progress through the game, but that's just me.

All in all I think you did a great job, even more so considering this is your first Ludum Dare entry!

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

This is very fun, and very simple - meets the theme well. My best score was 17. It would be kind of cool if there were more to it, but then it wouldn't be minimalism, would it? :-)

AirRider3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:37am

This is biggest troll game in this LD. Props to the music. 52 points here.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53am

I reached 33. Really minimal, that's great ! Quite fun also. Felt a bit "luck-driven" sometimes tho. Good music !

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:54am

Trippy game. The visuals remind me of Pink Floyd for some reason.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:58am

Reminds me a little of The Impossible Game, but this is much simpler, so it fits the theme very well. Sadly it's completely random so you can't compare the scores. But overall it's fun to play.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:44am

Simple and fun. Well done!

May 5, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Reached 38. Holy moly.

May 6, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Great stuff -- really like what the procedural/adapting lines adds to this game type.

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:35am

Really cool thing. Wanna play it more and more.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Great flow! Like how the gaps could merge and hide eachother, gave the game a different depth when thinking ahead.

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:21am

Simple game, but I don't quite understand the lines so much and makes it feel unfair. Got up to 43 though.

The music and the color changes work quite well with the game. Good job. :D

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Square jump activated ! Really minimalist, but a gradual increase in speed would be cool :).

davidpeter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I speak for the number 39.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]