April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defenders of Order

by DNA Yarn - Jam Entry

Tower Defense game with novel aiming mechanism; defend minimalism from the forces of chaos.

Programmed by Ryan Hill, art and music by Anand Friesen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#21Innovation(Jam)4.00
#119Fun(Jam)3.32
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#143Mood(Jam)3.39
#144Humor(Jam)2.74
#191Theme(Jam)3.51
#200Audio(Jam)3.14
#235Graphics(Jam)3.35

Comments

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Very cool aiming idea. The creatures remind me of a Mayan codex.

atrodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

A very fun game, I really like the mechanics a lot.

Phase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

love the creatures

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

It's not loading in Mac OSX Mountain Lion on Chrome.

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57am

Strange aiming mechanic. Unintuitive but could be fun.

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

this is really cool. I love the enemy designs and the approach to aiming/shooting. Maybe I just didn't play it long enough, but I kind wish there was more of this, it's a awesome concept warranting more fleshing out

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Great aiming concept, the art was alright, but I feel too detailed. The change of pace was a bit slow, and seemed difficult in an unfair way because I didn't really waste any of my laserbeam things, but still lots got past me.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

It's a nice idea. Simple and fun :).

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

great idea!

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wow, how cool is that? What a fantastic idea! I also like the contrast of order/minimalism on the player's side and these strange heads on the enemy's side - which is especially visible when one of the player's dots get eaten. It seems so simple (and slightly boring) from the screenshot, but it's really great! Nice, nice, very very very nice! :-)

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Really intriguing, interesting idea with the aiming and I loved the boss. Cool monster design, as well! Good job!

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16am

The aiming is innovation!
I like it.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Pretty cool idea! :)

Milktoast says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:04am

Very satisfying. Well done!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:16am

At first I was like "What the hell is this", then when I got the aiming, I really really liked this. I thought you did a great job interpreting the theme. I hope you keep working on this!

docix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19am

Fresh take on the genre! Very excellent work!

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:29am

Nice art and audio, and the take on tower defense is interesting, but it didn't seem balanced very well; at times, I wasn't doing anything and at others I was getting overwhelmed with no recourse.

Super Hamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49am

Interesting idea, I have never seen anything like this and it was interesting figuring out the strategy of how to win.

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Really love the mechanics!

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:28am

Nice aiming mechanic, art, and audio! It would be nice to have an easier way to recover and some way to track score, but otherwise this is a unique entry that matches well to the theme.

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:48pm

wow. just wow. great game. with a bit more content could be a perfect time-killer.

Erunaamo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Really clever gameplay, and cool contrasting art styles: In my view, an unexpected but satisfying use of the theme. Kinda too hard: couldn't survive long. Polished sound. For some reason I really like the particle effect you use for beam weapon damage.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]