April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BLoK

by BiOME - Jam Entry

The objective of BLoK is you, the green player block, to stop the little green blocks from hitting the big green blocks.
My description is not too good but trust me, when you start playing you wont want to stop.
The "Game Over" screen is NOT broken, I just didn't play the game when I got that screenshot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Not bad, not bad. Gets a little repetitive after a while, but it's very intuitive.

BiOME says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Thanks, trying to keep it "Minimal" :)

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

The music isn't my favorite, but it was really fun other than that.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice music. The key repeat is not adequate for the game; the player should move faster. It’s not obvious what the bomb does (I guess it's a "smart bomb" that kills all enemies on screen). I would have prefered the arrow keys to this strange choice of keys.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Nice concept, but would have liked to see some smoother character controls.

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54pm

A good base idea. Quite fun & chalenging in the beginning but the game runs incredibly hard because of bad reasons in my opinion: the control is not flawless et the cube is quite slow that is became impossible to catch most of the cubes. But once again the concept is pretty fun and the theme is respected, so congrats anyway ;)

May 12, 2013 @ 8:31am

I love the music :)
The controls were a bit annoying..

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:13pm

The movement was very sluggish, just having more smooth would have helped a lot.

johnste says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:23pm

The controls could be a lot better. Interesting game, but repetetive...

WiseGAMER says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

This is a very nice game I liked everything especially the audio.

dalbinblue says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

The music is great. Once you have three blocks to defend, it gets unfairly difficult to defend the boxes not in the center as the small blocks move too quickly to catch up with them in time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]