April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Simplyfy

by comfycouchstudio - Jam Entry

WARNING: this game is very hard. You will die a lot and complain in the comments about it.

Note: PostCompo version has a dead counter and a crono, more air horizontal control, and some changes in ilumination. Also some bug fixes.

Simplify is a game inspired by games overloaded with skills

The game focus is to make itself more minimalistic.

The mechanic is quite simple: everytime you win, you are forced to drop one of your skills. To win, just reach the empty room at the right of the map.

Less deaths means more skill !

Good luck ^_^

Keymap(see 4th screenshoot):
[A],[Left arrow]: Move left
[D],[Right arrow]: Move right
[Space]: Jump/DoubleJump/WallJump
[S],[X]: Dash
[Z]: Shoot
[Left Shift]: Run
[Left Control]: Crouch
[ESC]: Menu

The ComfyCouch Team:
The-Force (scripting and buildings)
cm07 (scripting and mapping)
Amazon (mapping,music and sounds)
Vegon (logo, icons)
blzkz (honorific)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#247Theme(Jam)3.33
#261Overall(Jam)3.16
#266Audio(Jam)2.93
#298Humor(Jam)2.04
#310Graphics(Jam)3.02
#350Mood(Jam)2.70
#380Fun(Jam)2.61
#413Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

oh god -- death at every corner -- i like the game mechanics but i kept dying all the time, and it kept respawning at the beginning -- nice effort

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

I love the little blood trails., although I saw them way too often. :) The skill loss mechanic is very interesting. Even with all of the skills I found it quite challenging to make it through the level, but at least there are many routes and many ways to solve each problem. Good Show.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

It took a while for me to realize I could double jump and wall hang. Even then the game is a bit too difficult for me and I gave up around the 60th life.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

Well, I told myself around try #40 that I would go to 100, and did just that, not succeeding once. If you want to track the distributions of deaths, I will post it on my twitch channel by tomorrow (/zxprogramming). The thing about extremely difficult games is that they require an eventual reward - I did not get one from this. This game felt less "difficult" than it was "unforgiving". Too often I would "trip" on some ground spikes as I jumped over them, with no obvious visual contact, or land too close behind one of the circles. Also, while aerial control is not physically realistic, it is nearly essential in a motion-heavy game. Basically, whenever I entered the air I was gambling with my life, and felt that I had very little control over where I would end up, no matter how I took off. With tighter controls and shorter levels (or, like, save points? Then you could make us run all of the challenges.), it could be pretty good. At the moment, however, for me it is simply just painful.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

My personal record is 40 but I had a lot of testing while making it. I admit character control is buggy and some colliders are too big too. I will try to fix some of this problems.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01am

You should add some sort of checkpoint system, as it's really hard to get far without dying. I liked the death animating though - cool blood!

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

Tried to run in OS X (untested, yes, so I saw):

LSOpenURLsWithRole() failed with error -10810 for the file /Users/Skomakarn/Downloads/LD26/Simplify.app.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

You should tighten this up and make it a bit more forgiving. I dig what you have so far and would love to be able to actually enjoy it! Haha. Good work!

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Heh, got too frustrating for me to finish. It desperately needs a checkpoint after some of those obstacles. I liked the music, and the path that tricks you into looping back around to the beginning made me laugh a good bit, so high marks for humor there.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I downloaded the Linux version but it says:
$ ./Simplify
Set current directory to /tmp
Found path: /tmp/Simplify
There is no data folder

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Really nice visual style style and I like the music. It reminds me of super meat boy. Save points would make this game about 1 million times more fun and should only take a few minute to implement. The controls felt ok, but I think that if you are asking this degree of difficulty from the player then you need to hold the controls up to a higher standard. I can't control the height of my jump for example. As a player I felt overwhelmed by the controls. I get what you are trying to do by overloading the player with skills at first but it would make more sense from a game design perspective if you start the player with less abilities and give them more abilities as they progress, even if you take them away later.

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14pm

add checkpoints or increase the game speed s deaths don't cost so much time and the game is almost perfect!

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice game!
I had to play it twice since I didn't read the controls the first one, you should show the keymap at the begining.
I enjoyed it, may you uplodad a speedrun video?

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Controls felt a bit, but it seemed pretty neat anyway!

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:11pm

a bit wierd*

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:11pm

A little too difficult! The controls are smooth, though, so it's just all in the level design :D The art style is cute and effective and I enjoyed the sounds! NIce job!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I keept dying all the time. Still, nice work!

Leebo86 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I wish I could get farther, but after about 20 tries, I couldn't make it past the first couple scenes.

Hatscat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Gongratulation for your game.
I quit after 91 deaths.
I would like see a speed run ^^ .

May 1, 2013 @ 8:04pm

So frustrated, but funny a really hard game to try to beat, when you get practice can do easy but need some time hehe :D

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:14am

Tough, but nice animations and the controls were pretty solid and I had fun in spite the difficulty.

Something simple that would have made it less frustrating: shadows/colored areas for where blocks or bullets land, so you can better judge where safety is.

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:45am

Extremely difficult, but I there's nothing wrong with a punishing game. I thought the controls were smooth and the wall jumping implemented very well (lots of games seem to get it wrong). I love the effect when the player dies, and am very grateful for the quick respawn times!

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:22am

It feels like you were inspired by super meat boy, I liked the setup but the controls being wonky made the game virtually unplayable. Which is a shame because I thought there was a lot of potential here.

Nathanhoff says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:07pm

It is a bit too difficult. The biggest problem is with the controls in that you can't move yourself in the air effectively which is very necessary in a game like this. On the other hand, the physics were nice, and the over-all concept is very interesting.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Well it looks nice and the blood effects are good... as well I know by now... I do not like hardcore games much... regrettably this confirms my prejudice.

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05pm

It's a nice angle and the movement felt good, but yeah, like the others said, unforgiving! Found it really hard to judge even the first squishing blocks. Felt like I wanted to be able to save!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:17am

Rock hard, and that's in a good way! I love it

headchant says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I'm so bad at this :(

pikmin4000 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Amazing concept! Sadly, the level design wasn't made too well. It started off with such a hard piece not allowing the player to learn the mechanics well. I also found myself in mid jump wanting to change direction but couldn't. I liked the music/sound effects and player animations. Perhaps start the player off with a much easier level and give checkpoints now and then.

CogentInvalid says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I died a lot and I complained in the comments section about it. I think the problem is that you accelerate too quickly on the ground and too slowly in the air. Besides that, the skill loss mechanic seems interesting (although I never got far enough to test it out) and the levels seem well-designed to facilitate that mechanic.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:48am

Air controls were weird, but I liked it. I didn't get the "remove a control" screen and thought the game had crashed and accidentally gave up. Good work though, had fun playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]