April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Street of Rave

by TinyDrakkarStudio - Jam Entry

It's our first Ludum Jam and our first game, and we would be happy if you give us your comments and tips.
So, dance around people, run away cops, and... Have fun !

PS : We are a belgian team, so maybe we speak english like a team of spanish cows. Sorry for that !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#26Humor(Jam)3.70
#40Fun(Jam)3.68
#93Audio(Jam)3.53
#100Mood(Jam)3.54
#122Innovation(Jam)3.43
#129Overall(Jam)3.52
#167Graphics(Jam)3.64
#368Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Awsome!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Sadly the web version crushes after the tutorial and the Windows version isn't downloadable (server issues?). :/ But it looks awesome!

(btw: Win XP, 32bit)

Toastation says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09pm

So fun ! Très bon jeu, coucou pour nos amis les belges :)

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I had quite a bit of fun with this game, though I wasn't able to beat it. Its nicely done though.

orophin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Superlevelsebastian ... maybe you can try on monsterkid.be/jam ... if you try on a smartphone, that don't work on it because we don't have developed the smartphone touch on this version... we have try the game on explorer, firefox and chrome with windows 7 and 8 64bit and that run on it ... the time was to short for trying on other system so sorry ;)

orophin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Et merci à toastation:) vive les belges

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

I hope this game gets rave reviews. Just don't confuse it with that other, equally cool title on the Mega Drive.

Evil Cult says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice game. I really liked the music but it kept on stopping and starting while I was playing. Other than that everything was quite nice but I thought the cops moved a bit too fast (Or maybe I just suck :P).

Fadobo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:36am

Awesome game. Love the attention to detail in the pixelart animation (especially the dancing couple). Also not easy, took me quite a few tries to finish.

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Heyyyy nice! You really have a awesome feeling by making all those people dance! The trance/dance soundtrack helped too.
Good happy game!
+ Hello from Liège ;)

Kom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Although it's a bit short, this is very well made and quite fun.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:30am

Ultimately awesome!
"Make people dance", yeah! Clever concept!
I request more levels to MAKE PEOPLE DANCE =)

P.S. Like dancing dogs ^_^

May 3, 2013 @ 6:58am

tks to all of you.... SaintHeiser, it's ready for a futur version... we want to add levels, songs and other thinks because we like this concept too

WiseGAMER says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:36am

What a bad cops!! they blow your mind when they catch you XD
anyway, it was a good challenging game :)

brookman32k says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:37am

I like your game very much. Great oldschool sprites and nice background music. Had to laugh at the dancing dogs XD

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:39am

Quiet original idea there. I had issues with the music stopping and starting all the time. Kinda fun tho.

orophin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I think that 3 days was just a little bit short for find all the bugs... but i think we want to continue this game... tks for youre comment:)

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:36am

I love the dancing! Unfortunately, the cops proved too hard to avoid for me. 8/12 :(

Nice job!

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:20pm

oh, and now you made me want to do drugs and run around the city like we used to back in the day.
wait, did I just type that aloud?
awesome game btw. bonus points for exploding head and dancing. could use a bit more vivid music tho. our sound guy is way more groovier at his best.

fueelin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Really liked this, great concept/reference. Wish it was a little harder to get killed but I still liked it a lot.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:50pm

We have a winner here, even the credits screen is super cool!

Congratulations on the amazing game, very original. I hate the cops!

May 5, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Me too... and it is the reason we have include the cops ;)

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Really neat idea, but the cops proved too challenging for me to avoid. In some cases, they seemed to teleport towards my avatar.

henrykun says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:13pm

It made me laugh a lot, the animations look so funny haha. I like the game and the idea too, although there is something strange with the player's movement, I'm not sure what. Btw, what do you mean with "team of Spanish cows"?.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:13am

henrykun .... "speaking english like a team of Spanish cows" is because our english is not very good :) tks for comment

Adipson says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:16am

Bravo pour ce jeu ! super fun ! c'est clair que la police là dedans nous aime pas ! lol tres drôle et bien foutu..Belgium.. One point ! :)

kyyninen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Wonderful idea, not a fan of the controls but I learned them fast enough.

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Haha, great! I love the game! Good and clear instructions, nice music, dancing dogs and grandpas, annoying police! Good job :D

pvwradtke says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:19am

Liked the concept and the use of audio to complement the game play. But I think controls are really dificult, maybe if the character would turn faster? Also, kudos for providing a Linux binary.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:02pm

"Street of rave" !? :D
Votre jeu est sympa ! Les policiers qui s'arrêtent au bout de quelques secondes, c'est bien trouvé ! Peut-être un peu court (Jam oblige), l'encerclement est parfois étrange, mais sinon c'est tout bon, vraiment c'est chouette !

Sestren says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:40am

Getting the old man with the cane dancing cracks me up. Love the style of this game. Fun and challenging.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:37am

This game was lovely. I enjoyed seeing all the dance animations and the general feel good vibe.

May 12, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Tks at all ... merci à tous... nous allons probablement retravailler le jeu et mettre après les votes biensûr la version achevée avec des nouveaux niveaux etc etc... for english guy :) probably we want to work on a new version of this game ... more complete and with new levels and more easy to start ... we love this game :).... after the rating we got to upload this complete version

Xanjos says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:51am

Bit short but it's a fun and amusing game. The music was amazing.

MinionStudios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:41pm

An awesome, hilarious and fun game! Heads blowing up? LOL

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:16am

Really great music, and wonderful humor. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]