April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unfurl

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

Unfurl is the ultimate brainteaser. On a small wooden board, unroll scrolls on which symbols are painted. Match predetermined sequences with the minimum number of symbols to advance to the next level. How far can you make it?

HOW TO PLAY
Visit http://unfurl.handcraft.com/ to get started. Instructions are available if you scroll down the page a bit.

TEAM EAGLE IS
Benjamin de Jager (@M0rph3v5)
Fedor Jutte (@fejuto)
Pat Kemp (@pat_of_kemp)
Rahul Choudhury (@rahul)

TOOLS
Language: Haxe (http://haxe.org/)
Graphics: Adobe Photoshop CS6
Sound: GarageBand and Amadeus for Mac OS X. Samples from freesound.org.
Fonts: Google Fonts

Thanks for checking us out! Don't forget to pray to the Shatzene god of war before you leave.

PS. We made Shatzan up. Contrary to popular belief, Unfurl is a 100% original product of LD26 ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.17
#20Audio(Jam)4.02
#22Overall(Jam)4.00
#56Mood(Jam)3.73
#61Fun(Jam)3.58
#77Graphics(Jam)4.00
#236Theme(Jam)3.37
#340Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

I love it. Well done!

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

This is my favorite entry so far. Deserve more attention. Although it is based on a real game I still give it high innovation note for promoting lesser known board games.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

@rezoner, fyi this is not based on a real boardgame. The description is made up just the fit the eastern style :). Thanks for the lovely message though!

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice graphics and pretty hard puzzles here :)

Vaalen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

It's a cool game even if it doesn't really respect the theme. Graphics and music are good but I haven't found a way to save my progression.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Really interesting mechanic.. good puzzles.. I liked it! :)

zerebruin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Great idea & execution. Would be perfect for tablets imho :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Took me awhile to figure out how to play
Otherwise fresh puzzle idea and the sound creates a nice mood

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I think you ought to tone down the made up description a little - or at least make it more obvious that it's made up. As it stands, it had me wondering just how innovative this really was! For a moment I even questioned whether it was actually made for the jam or whether this was just some random game that you were using the jam to advertise.

The game might actually be better appreciated without the fiction surrounding it - at least during voting season!

Anyway, the game itself is super-peaceful, well made and excellently presented. Nice job :D

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

So I played this in the morning when I just got out of bed. With a clear mind I started unfurling.

It's a really fun little game with a unique concept. It can be quite difficult at times, but if you take a moment and listen to the zen music playing in the background, you'll find that the answer wil come to you eventually.

That brings me to the audio, it's lovely.

I had enough of the game after a few levels though, this is one of those games of which you would want 1 puzzle each day.

The graphics fit the theme well, although I would say a bit too much of texture overlays was used.

Overall, great job you guys! :D

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice puzzle game. I would recommend inserting the game explanation in the game itself. A small tutorial wouldn't hurt you. But once you get the controls the game becomes very cool.

shines says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Very cool game. And nice potato =)

I was also going to give you slightly fewer points for innovation because it's based on an existing game. Since it's not though, I'll give you all five, but you may want to edit your description to reflect it's completely created by you all (perhaps add a bit of magic/fantasy to the description to indicate it's not inspired by this world).

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Sorry, I didnt understand the game instructions at all, would you like to make a video so I can learn how to play?

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Clever puzzle game, very original.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:35pm

An engaging puzzle; it took me a long time to figure out the unfurling motion at first, and it wasn't immediately obvious from the instructions. Very cool graphics and sounds, and a neat game mechanic. Well done.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very good puzzle game!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I love it! The music is pretty relaxing and the concept is original. And by the way it is very difficult :D

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great entry. Loving the idea, graphics and music. Polished up this would be great on mobile devices.

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:07am

If I were into these kinds of puzzle games, I would really like this. As it is, I played a few levels, appreciated the elegance of the design, and moved on. :)

Sestren says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Amazing entry all around. I seriously hope you don't lose too many Innovation points due to people being convinced by the description that this game already existed before. Making a brand-new puzzle game that is both clever and fun is far from easy, and what I love more about your game is that it could, in theory, be played in real life with actual scrolls. Awesome job!

Sestren says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:19pm

If I were to add one piece of constructive criticism, however, I do think the game is way too easy in the later levels. Once you have an intuitive sense for how the scrolls work, it's clear that the later levels give you far more scrolls than you actually need, and solving certain levels is almost trivial. This is a minor complaint, of course, but if you were to decide to expand on this game or get it ready for release somewhere, I would recommend tweaking the challenge of many of the later levels.

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

It's a deep and good game.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:28am

This is a beautiful game, and a very clever puzzle. There's a deceptive amount of depth behind the simple premise!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Very polished, excellent atmosphere. I wish you could put a reminder of what's on the scrolls when you select them, it would imply less random unfurling (and more "zen" as too much scroll sound can be annoying). Apart from that, great, great job.

Misael.K says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Good job, nice puzzle game. Simple mechanics that provide an increasing level of complexity, kept me engaged for a while. Keep it up!

mildmojo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:17am

I really like the scroll unfurling mechanic. The ambient windchime-like music and the sound of paper unrolling is really relaxing.

I agree with others that once you've figured the scrolls out, it can be easy to brute-force the later levels without really using the pre-printed symbols. I played until level 32 when the game froze. No long repsonded to input, but the music kept playing. Was there an ending?

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:07am

Clever puzzle game!

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Very neat game and a solid entry. :)

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Wow!! Extremely well put together and professional looking. Great idea, great execution

anjack says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Phenomenal puzzle game! Very innovative idea and well implemented!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:24am

Nice polished

Xanjos says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:27am

Takes a while to get used to the rules/mechanics but this is a pretty solid game with fiendishly hard puzzles.

joe40001 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Loved this game, would be perfect for tablets, add save feature and lots and lots of levels as well stuff like angry birds has where it lets you know if you did it perfect or not. (Minimal amount of scrolls). Then just charge 99 cents, and boom instant classic! Congrats future millionaires *is jealous*

joe40001 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Edit: Didn't realize how many levels there were, if you were doing a bigger release of this game I instead recommend having levels with a 5x5 grid for later levels. Few difficulty tweaks like that but it model it off of something like angry birds, players love it because they know they CAN beat any given level but the fun comes from beating it better than you did before or moving on if you don't want to. But really this premise is just playtesting away from being a bit hit.

joe40001 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:04pm

One final comment on difficulty: Level 32 is a great example, it can be beat with just 3 blue scrolls but you are given like 9 of each green and blue plus the cover scroll.

TeamEagle says ...
May 23, 2013 @ 10:58am

@joe40001 we're looking into making it into something to release and fyi the levels are procedurally generated so level 32 is different for everyone. The number of scrolls are increasing to increase the difficulty but the generator doesn't understand that you could complete it with lesser so that needs some fixing.

Thanks for your feedback :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]