April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dead End

by _Ziemowit - Jam Entry

(windows build will be added)
A simple game with only music.
The goal is to take as many as possible things (bonuses, coins, gramophones? - doesn't matter, just outputs sound), avoiding contact with enemy and dodging between obstacles. You can navigate only with sounds (good earphones or dolby surround recommended).

Controls:
Game:
Up - forward
Left - turn left
Right - turn right
Space - wait
Menu:
Return - new game
Escape - exit
The game is turn-based - single press of the button is one step forward

(Enemy is emitting different sound when chasing You and when blocked by the obstacle)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Audio(Jam)3.33
#197Theme(Jam)3.48
#218Innovation(Jam)3.16
#368Mood(Jam)2.65
#484Overall(Jam)2.54
#487Fun(Jam)2.24
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Get a windows version on asap! The description sounds intriguing. I had always wondered about making a sound only game.

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I tried running it, but got an error message:

./deadend: error while loading shared libraries: libsfml-audio.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

_Ziemowit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10pm

@martijn:
try to install SFML library
sudo apt-get install libsfml (or libsfml2, if doesn't work)

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Your Windows version appears to be a debug build, as it's asking for MSVCP110D.dll. Can you rebuild in release mode? (the redist packages don't appear to ship with debug dlls, since I have both the 64bit and 32bit redists for VC++ 2012 installed)

_Ziemowit says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:37pm

@Spiridos: Thanks for information, updated.

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:48pm

The non-debug build ran fine. You and I had similar ideas here. I was assuming the controls were first-person style like my game and it took me a while to realize I needed to repeatedly push the key for the direction I wanted to go. I like it, you managed to get a bit more in than I did.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Maybe some indication that you are moving. At first I didn't know if I had to old the button down or just press it once.

Canobie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:08pm

:|

Frib says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:17pm

No idea what was going on. I walked around with no clue where I was going, and then suddenly I heard the main menu sound again. :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Absolutely amazing. I got 5 'things' before one of the things killed me.

Yoni says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Had trouble getting started, and once I had nothing really happened. I kinda gave up after a while, winning no points :(

lorancou says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I didn't understand. Not sure if I caught anything. I managed to avoid enemies by going to the opposite direction, but that's all.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice "blind" game. Good job!

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:38pm

A similar game was made at my college for the Global Game Jam, except that one drew you near a heartbeat that got louder and louder. Also, I think that it used normal directional controls. Though I suppose it's the point, it's really easy to lose track of which direction you're facing, so it becomes a button masher of a game.

The idea is interesting and maybe someone with more patience would even find it fun, but for me, I kept running into the opening menu audio after a while (don't know why) and eventually gave up.

May 6, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Sadly I can't start it because it seems to don't be playable on Win32-systems. :(

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Mmmmmh... great idea but i found nothing...

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:38am

Lesson learned: I'd be a terrible blind man. I kept trying for more than 10 minutes and found nothing D= Great idea though.

donan says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:15am

Really nice idea. Hard to play with only sounds :D

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:54am

This is less intuitive than I first thought! Panning is weird at times, because the player can only move at 90º angles (couldn't play it with speakers, only headphones). Instead of going straight to an item, I'd often come at it in circles. The main atmosphere is nice but confusing, it's hard to hear faint sounds when there are soft agony screams in the background.
Very cool idea and game. Kudos!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]