April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bugging Flies

by rpistorello - Jam Entry

Kill the flies and annoy the sleepy uncle. (use swipe with mouse/touch)

Buggin Flies is a casual endless game. The objectives are simple:
-Don't let the flies eat all the fruit
-Toss the flies into the uncle's mouth to get points
-Get the higher points possible


Ricardo Rui Pistorello - Programmer
Rafael Schardong May - Graphics and Game Designer
Moyses Alencar de Carvalho - Sound Designer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#61Humor(Jam)3.26
#230Graphics(Jam)3.36
#305Audio(Jam)2.79
#377Overall(Jam)2.86
#402Mood(Jam)2.54
#423Fun(Jam)2.44
#494Innovation(Jam)2.11
#558Theme(Jam)1.97

Comments

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I don't see minimalism (maybe in the gameplay?), but it was fun!

MrBlade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Pretty good entry! I got to level 23. Very addictive after awhile. Nice game!

Psytew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Really fun, but a bit easy. I got to level 34 without much difficulty, and just stopped due to slight repetitiveness.

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Lvl 42. I made this poor sleeping guy eat a looot of flies.
That was funny but too repetitive. The sounds of the guy eating flies made me laugh :)
Good work!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

It's a nice fly swatting game, I liked that you can change direction of flies flying away.

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:29am

Very polished. Good luck in the app store. :)

I think you might want to make it a bit harder though. I quit at level 50 because it was boring. Instead, you should have newbies lose quickly at first and then get better over time. Maybe have different kinds of flies? And maybe it's a little too easy to get the watermelon back?

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

Great graphics and sound. The gameplay got a bit tiring after a little while. I got 1,200,000 points :) But then gave up :( Some bonuses or other fly types would zazz it up a bit I think.

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:32am

Reminds me of the kind of thing I'd see in a Warioware game! Great art style and story - it adds a lot to the basic gameplay.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16am

so many flies -- so little time -- great game -- i loved getting the flies in the guys mouth and having him spit up a piece of watermelon -- brilliant

danblack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:28am

Minimalism? Nice graphics and nicely polished but I didn't find the game fun to play.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:04am

So right now I've got the game paused at 16.5 Million points and level 129, and frankly my stubbornness can't hold out much longer. If you are making an "endless" game like this you have to make sure that either the game gets harder quicker, or the game stays funner longer.

The difficulty curve being too easy is a big problem. Maybe you guys didn't mean for you to just be able to hold down the mouse, idk. But clearly the game is polished just needs fine-tuning.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37pm

http://i.imgur.com/eFQmRr8.jpg

So yeah, too easy :P

sittaman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Great game, very fun too lol. Congratulations.

rpistorello says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Hello! Bugging Flies's developer here.

We're very thankful to have so many positives comments and feedback helping on how to improve the game design. We are excited to make changes and implement new features.
For those who want to play, test or get information of next versions, follow us on twitter @pixelmengames

Thanks again.

rubapi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

fun game but I cannot see the minimalism

artctrl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:10am

Great simple game. I think it could be improved with different types of flys, that took multi sypes to kill.

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:23am

lol... nice!

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:09pm

The gameplay starts to grate a little before you get to the challenging gameplay. You can easily hold down click to swat flies and just flail the mouse around. It's a fun game though, and I like the art :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]