April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

fightfightfight

by bleatingheart - Jam Entry

A minimalist rpg (and my first LD game.) Play as sword, axe, or girl. Loot and chickens await.

Made with music from Playonloop.com

N.B.: Combat outcomes are random, so if it feels like you're stuck in a loop you're probably just having a streak of bad luck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#6Humor(Jam)4.08
#15Theme(Jam)4.28
#40Audio(Jam)3.88
#115Mood(Jam)3.48
#204Innovation(Jam)3.19
#211Overall(Jam)3.30
#264Fun(Jam)2.92
#271Graphics(Jam)3.19

Comments

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Fits the theme. It reminds me of one of those idle RPG games, except you have to keep clicking. :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I loved it. Fits the theme, made me laugh. Way to go!

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Looks great, awesome music, hilarious. I'm not sure I'd really consider it a game though.

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Wow, so many 80 hour RPGs are basically this game if you remove the graphics, fighting mechanics, and story. It makes me feel like I wasted an epic amount of time playing JRPGs where I didn't find the story compelling. I like the three word repetition theme and the music is perfect for RPGs. The square format is fun and makes the game feel small. I was shocked to see the right click menu was so extensive. Awesome game!

Coruon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Okay, I really enjoyed this game. The music was great, the sound effects were good, the concept, I found, was hilarious and I enjoyed it so much. And then I was a little disappointed when I thought there was so little to it and then suddenly I was in a town and the game kept going and there was an ending and everything :p Made my day, a fun game.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Wow, this is pretty minimalistic.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Awesome. That was very well done, sound, graphics, humor, etc. Excellent work.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Best.Game.Ever! I totally agree with Robert. Awesome use of theme. 5 stars my friend, 5 stars indeed!

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

commentcommentcomment

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Pretty fun, but is it a game? Not really..

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

This might be the best game I've seen so far. I love the scrolling words in the background, the music, the "I don't care" attitude, and the humor!

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Hilarious. I feel like this is pretty much how most RPGs play anyway, especially games like Mafia Wars or that Behemut "card game" on iphone.

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

epicepicepic

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Made me laugh. I had serious DEJA VU while playing this game, as if I had a dream about playing it long before actually playing it.

Farfin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Go home everybody ludum dare is over. this guy just won.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice.

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

LOL! I played through the whole thing and began picturing the game in my head based on the text and music. Excellent humor & music, and it fits the theme great.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

What the heck did I just click through? :)

Truly an font of minimalism.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53am

This is hilarious. It's the perfect game, minus the gameplay.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Fan, freaking, tastic. This made me laugh out loud multiple times. It's short, simple, and wonderfully coherent and finished. Pretty much perfect.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16am

I love the music.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

nonono. no offence, it just didn't seem like a game, more like a repetitive story that never got anywhere.

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:18am

I want to show this game to my friends, this is every stereotypical RPG in a nutshell I love it.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

If I asked someone to make me a minimalist drawing and they returned with a blank sheet of paper, I wouldn't say that they had succeeded. Similarly, this is an amusing and visually interesting gag, but it's not a game and, on that note, it's not a minimalist game. There needs to be gameplay for it to be a minimalist game.

Loved the art, by the way.

Krahe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

A little *TOO* minimalist but a funny enough to make me laugh.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

I won the game! Soundtrack was pretty good.

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

Pretty funny. Nice music too!

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:34am

funfunfun

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:28am

FIGHTFIGHTFIGHT

PLAYPLAYPLAY

LAUGHLAUGHLAUGH

WINWINWIN

RATERATERATE

...THE SHOPKEEPER IS A CHICKEN

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51am

This game is so bad I had to make a flash review about it!
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/558516

Jokes aside,sure it is minimalistic :) Great graphics and sounds. I like how it humors classic JRPGs.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:35am

Hahaha, that was brillantbrillantbrillant. Pretty much every RPG ever. I especially liked that 'girl' was a weapon. ^_^

saguaro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I was surprised to see this was a Ren'Py game! I slogged through a lot of RPGs when I was younger and you really captured the essence. Great entry, very funny.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19am

That was fun, a bit like progressQuest !

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:25am

Hahaha, the music totally makes this game. It was great when I first went into a town... then stole stuff, and fought chickens... Heh.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Well, it fits the theme.

MinionStudios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:36am

Hilarious!

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:48am

:) :) :)
Good Good Good

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]