April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Moves

by 1WeekEndStudio - Jam Entry

/!\ For a better experience, use Xbox controller, and play with a friend! /!\

Concept

Minimal Moves is a cooperative puzzle for 1-2 players based on saving resources (which is a fundamental of the Minimalist Movement).

There are two avatars and each one has a unique ability: one is able to rotate the elements of the level while the other can translate them. Those ability consume proper resource to each avatar.
Their goal is to use thoses abilities to reach the warp in each level.

But! Don't spend to many resources because they are not refilled between levels! The only way to recover resource is to collect orbs spreaded through the different levels.

Well, actually, when an avatar collect an orb, it's the
other avatar which earns resources. So, the only way to win is to cooperate =)

Good luck & have fun!

Input

Left joystick / Arrow / WASD: move active avatars
A / Space / Enter: play / use avatar's ability
X / Tab: swap between avatar


Team

Aurel
Johcgart
Meedoc
Nadege
Sebastien Le Goff
Tichau

N.B.: there are still some bugs, we're going to continue fixing them during the next days.

/!\
Sources available here: http://racine.meedoc.net/LD26/Sources_MinimalMoves.rar
/!\

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#31Innovation(Jam)3.91
#39Graphics(Jam)4.26
#178Audio(Jam)3.24
#211Mood(Jam)3.14
#230Overall(Jam)3.26
#239Humor(Jam)2.28
#344Fun(Jam)2.72
#493Theme(Jam)2.49

Comments

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

Are you planning to share the code?
I would like to know how to do that wind :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

Doesn't feel too responsive - The idea is really great though, 5 stars for innovation! Its a shame I don't have anyone here to play it with. Add some polish and you've got a winner!

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

Really fun puzzle type game, however I don't know how much it fits the theme.

mostley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49am

wow the keyboard controls are really hard. Some music would help the athmosphere. The Idea is great though. -1 for no sourcecode.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Looks impressive and has controller support (yay), but the gameplay is too confusing and too difficult.

Tichau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Yes, we planned to share the code, we just didn't had time to do this :) end project rush !

Tichau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

"Some music would help the athmosphere." It si strange because there is a music during the game :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Love the graphics, looks stunning!

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

A very good idea with a nice realisation. The only thing I would wish for is that the controls are shown during the game.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I think I would like a reduced version of this game where you only need to figure out the solution and perform it somehow without steering the characters, maybe instead just click on what you want somehow.

Great look and atmosphere!

Tichau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Thanks a lot ! We know that the game is too difficult, we need to balance it but the core logic is here.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Coool graphics, the gameplay is hard as hell though!!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Thanks for your comments! We just updated the sources and versions for Linux, Mac and Windows.

We're going to improve feedback and level design as soon as possible =)

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:39pm

The control scheme is a bit tricky to get used to, perhaps a tutorial level that's not as constrained as the regular levels to give you a feel for moving the platforms around cooperatively?

Very pretty graphics and atmosphere, sound complements it nicely. Well done :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Really awesome visuals but didn't quite understand it.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14pm

The game runs very nicely for me on Linux. Only issue was that the keyboard controls didn't seem to work. I couldn't get past the menu. Plugging in a controller worked tho. :)

I really like the two player puzzle concept, and even just playing it yourself and switching between the characters is quite fun.

Some of the moves/actions you can do weren't that obvious tho, and it did take some failed attempts before I started learning how to do what I wanted.

Great work! And kudos for including a Linux build and using a fairly fast download site! :)

Drabiter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Beautiful and really clever. However the mouse click for menu not work for linux here. The key presses also randomly work.

Angerus says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:08am

Really like the concept and the realization is great!(I love the graphical vibe!)

However the 3D manipulation or perspective of the puzzle is hard to "master", especially if you try to visualize what will happen if you rotate something. The possibility to watch the stage from other angle shot may help the player to understand more easily her/his choices.
And a minor minus( which is partially my fault too!), when you are playing the game on the computer, the Player2 controls ( Enter, Shift and co) activate the "persistent keys"(Should have disable that thing!!)

Now a change of subject: When collecting a orb while the two avatars are on the same "case", both of them receive resources ! Bug or Feature?;)

Finally, I found the theme well exploited here and the degrees of polish is high!Again, congrats for this entry!!

Broxxar says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Really cool but like others have said, the controls are just hard to get the hang of and the game play seems overly complicated.

Jyrkface says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Gorgeous graphics and concept! I would love to play this on my iPad!

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:25pm

great atmosphere and characters, but the controls are really hard, good enter, congratulations

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice and polished presentation. It is clear what to do and how to do it, but it is still very hard to actually... do it right. The graphics are so great anyway.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:37am

must be too tired -- cant figure it out -- looks great and sounds great tho -- nice job

8BitPimp says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Nice game, but the controls are extremely unintuitive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]