April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Special client

by ColdBrain - Jam Entry

Save minimalistic website from an importunate client.
Take away the kittens and other foreign elements.
Leave only the coolest web art and earn some money.

Google Chrome preferred. Best used on iPad (vertical orientation).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#10Humor(Jam)4.00
#86Graphics(Jam)3.95
#146Mood(Jam)3.38
#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#222Overall(Jam)3.28
#303Audio(Jam)2.81
#368Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

"This game... This game!"
-A website developer, when asked about this game

PS: I love it! :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

...it's just..insane.. ! :)

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

this is crazy!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

This is a really great concept.
I would of appreciated the ability to blow up flash intros.

skif says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Wow! It's a really pretty game ^__^

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

C'est amusant :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

this was really lot of fun -- i love throwing cats and rainbows -- great job

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

The gimmick of a client asking for stars and kittens but not cats cracked me up! This looks sharp. If you continue to develop, have you considered clarifying which elements can be moved and what the client is requesting and responding to?

Farjuan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

Why does "The Harlem Shake" play when I start it?

ColdBrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

Farjuan, sorry, was a failure, fixed :)
You are lucky, because you saw it!

ethankennerly, yes, we also thought about it. At the beginning of training there, but apparently not enough.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

Really great :D The only thing that could've been explained better was the lorem-ipsum mechanic.

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Great concept. The sound effects are the icing on the cake, really. Rainbows!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Good work, first game that way really funny

jamioflan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:00am

This was really fun, both in gameplay and the concept of it. I didn't quite get the colour mechanic, and the Harlem Shake seemed to just be there to laugh at my failure, but it was great.

ColdBrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

jamioflan, nope, it wasn't laugh at failure. It was little surprise for those who completed both levels

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Haha. Reminds me of "I found this cool font called Comic Sans." xD
Sadly the element selection was a quite buggy for me, which made the game really hard to play. I also wasn't able to change to color of the text boxes.

drkrunk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I really liked this one :) Cats and rainbows...and I loved the sound effects. Awesome!!

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:20am

This game is so funny! The Harlem Shake made my day :D (Although you can't really finish the game since the timer was going way out of the bar and I could not grab anything).

May 9, 2013 @ 8:39am

Wow.

That was incredible.

I really don't have many other words to describe this one, other than it's ridiculously funny.

From a gameplay perspective, I think the fact that the elements "glue" onto the page if they sit for too long isn't very obvious. I didn't realize that was happening until very late in the game. Some sort of visual cue that the item is "fixed" would go a long way.

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:10am

Nice graphics audio and humor

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Funny and well made! Love the art!

goerp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Feels like this game is based on personal experience ;)
Quite an original game and it feels like your editing a page.
Funny as well.
The thing that didn't always work so well (I think) is that it was sometimes hard to grab a cat or something to throw away.
Maybe if I had an Ipad it would work better.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:41am

I don't know what is going on but it reminds me of old Geocities web sites. Also adorable cats. Can't write coherent sentence your game destroyed my higher brain functions. Meow.

kill0u says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:07am

Love it!

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I want moar kittens!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]