April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hard Puzzle

by scheurneus - Jam Entry

Move your pointer with the keys A and D.
Place blocks with the arrow keys
Use F4 to go to full screen mode.
Try to make all gray blocks green and not to introduce red blocks!
Press 'S' to play a new level.
Press 'Esc' to quit the game, or click the 'X'-button in the top right of the window

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Theme(Jam)3.61
#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#466Fun(Jam)2.30
#496Overall(Jam)2.48
#506Mood(Jam)1.93
#546Graphics(Jam)1.86
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

It fails from time to time with negative array index error.
Gameplay is fun and challenging though.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

The gameplay was pretty fun, well done :)

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

Original gameplay :) Never saw anything like that before

Johnicholas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31am

___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Key Press Event for A-key Key
for object obj_controller:

In script scr_move_pointer:
Error in code at line 8:
while(placed[pointer_x,pointer_y] == true) pointer_y -= 1;
^
at position 33: Negative array index

UntitledQ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

I feel this game could actually get pretty challenging if levels weren't generated from just straight lines. Nice idea though, good job!

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Thank you for the bug reports. Whenever it gives an error, please click ignore!

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Maybe I'll go on ever with this...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51pm

"___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Key Press Event for D-key Key
for object obj_controller:

In script scr_move_pointer:
Error in code at line 8:
while(placed[pointer_x,pointer_y] == true) pointer_y -= 1;
^
at position 33: Negative array index"

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

Very interesting concept but very buggy, crashed a lot when placing block. Still, with some polish this could be interesting.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice idea. Really challenging.

Dans17 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:25am

Good idea, but I think it would be more interesting if there were more factors in the game to make it challenging.

scheurneus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:33am

Dans17, you're right, but minimalism, huh?

Yoni says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice one! Great use of the theme :)

May 12, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Nice idea, but too challenging for me. Maybe it's not my kind of game ^^

___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Key Press Event for A-key Key
for object obj_controller:

In script scr_move_pointer:
Error in code at line 8:
while(placed[pointer_x,pointer_y] == true) pointer_y -= 1;
^
at position 33: Negative array index

aeveis says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:22am

interesting puzzle solving, maybe if there were built levels that focused on certain strategies used to fill the grey.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]