April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Squeezed Out

by HybridMind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the left and right arrow keys to avoid the blocks!

This game was made in about 8 hours for Ludum Dare 26. The theme was Minimalism. I created this game on Sunday while I traveled on three different types of trains and a bus across four states total.

Has online leaderboards if you're into that kinda thing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#42Theme4.26
#144Fun3.54
#369Overall3.36
#459Audio2.86
#584Mood2.84
#650Innovation3.00
#775Graphics2.74

Comments

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

Great little challenge - it's like Superlinear Hexagon :) Reminds me of the good times trying to beat the flying level on Battletoads from Gameboy .. at some point your finger have to move faster than your brain. Nice touch with the play button tweening from the title screen to become the player.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

def makes me think of super hexagon. i'm not super into the idea itself, but it works pretty well.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Simple game, but it controls well and gets challenging fast.

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

Fun game. Simple and well-executed. Sound was a bit annoying, though.

berjah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

Good smooth game and fun to play. I had to really focus to beat my own top scores.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

Really really nice. Shame the positions don't randomise more, I could basically stay still till near the end!

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

@pansapiens & ella guro: I wasn't originally thinking about Super Hexagon when I came up with this simple idea, but I do see the similarity for sure. Super Rectagon? :)

@ataxkt yeah, I definitely agree that is probably one of the things that annoys me the most. I just didn't have time to address that unfortunately in the small window I had to make this game.

@others: thanks for playing and the feedback thus far!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Where are the leaderboards? Didn't find 'em. ;p

But pretty cool! :)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

@SuperlevelSebastian: The leaderboards are available via the little trophy icon in the bottom left of the main menu.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

Very good work for such a time frame! Simple but fun

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43am

nice job, good sound and animation work

May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

This is a great example of how super simple graphics, if animated well, can look really sharp.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

Nice little game! One suggestion, instead of making the bars going lower when the games gets faster, keep them up. It´s actually very easy to find a spot to stay when the bar are o close to the player

netgrind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

This game had me replaying a bunch, gameplay is perfect for the theme. I really liked the play button turning into the character.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Awesome use of the theme, and quite fun too. Keep up the good work!

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:52am

Fun little game! It seems like you can get into one position though and pretty much just make minor movements to go on forever.

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59am

Simple but effective. Great sound effects and visuals.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:00am

Nice and simple gameplay that gets pretty tense. I wasn't very satisfied with the difficulty gradient, though -- the game seemed very slow initially and switched to being very difficult in an almost binary way.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:27am

Loved the sounds really fun game.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice work! It starts maybe a bit too slowly, but as it gets harder it's really fun.

Milktoast says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:27pm

The difficulty ramps up perfectly. Found myself grinning wider with delight with each successive round. Great job!

May 7, 2013 @ 4:06pm

3700! A perfect little game for several minutes, good job.

lasergans says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Is fun :) Although the simplicity it looks very good (like the animations). At the beginning its a bit boring.

MathiO says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Doesn't get much more minimalist than this, nicely done!

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Good job in doing this. Your game creates a fantastic flow. Perhaps you should change the instant death to some kind of penalty (perhaps the game gets slower) to keep up the flow!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:57am

simple, but great challenging game, it's like a maniac shooter. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]