April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You Are Alone

by Senosus - Jam Entry

A very minimal game, with a soft soundtrack, and simple graphics. Play as the blue circle, wandering your small world, avoiding others. Some enemies are alike, others are different. However, you are unique, and you are alone.

Made by Michael Roe (@mikeeroe) and Jack Dillon (@JackDirron). Presented under the name of our new studio, Senosus (@Senosus).

Enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

Wanna try this out but Im getting a xlive.dll not available error :(

Windows 7

Creativita says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

Weird. I haven't had that problem.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52am

Works fine on Win8, but the game itself is really slowly paced, the player circle starts twitching when you stop the cursor, and the enemies can spawn on top of you, instantly killing the player.

Senosus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

Yeah, the game was designed to be slow placed. The twitching was a bug I forgot to remove, and in hindsight, I should have set some sort of boundary so the player cannot enter the spawning point. Thanks for the feedback though! :)

Wan & Almudys says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33am

It works fine for me on Win7 :) The game indeeed needs some adjustments, since I believe I was killed by some enemy spawning at my location. Other than that and the twitching, the game worked well, the graphics+music fit well together building a cool atmosphere... Too bad the spawn bug kills the interest of the game!

tankete says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40am

I kinda wish you had two friends, or at least two more lives. Getting close to two minutes only to start over makes it hard to stick with. I'd rather be able to continue a time or two. Especially since I only got to two different enemies. The music and visuals worked well in setting the mood.

Senosus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

@Wan & Almudys - Thanks! We may even do a re-release after the LD voting is over, and we'll fix those bugs, as well as throw in some more content.

@tankete - That's an awesome idea! Lives would be good, especially considering most people rage-quit after 10 deaths. Thanks for your feedback :)

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

Yea disregard my comment about an error, its a problem with my computer... sorry!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:58am

This works well, and the different enemy types make it a little more engaging than other games of its type. That said, if you were going for a feeling of loneliness, as suggested by the title, having to actively avoid the other dots does not really align well with that idea.
And I'm glad to see you guys are going to continue working on it after the voting!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]