April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Loki

by francoisvn - Jam Entry

A minimal roguelike. You are in control of a triangle and you must strive to conquer the lesser shapes.

Use WASD to move your triangle, the mouse to aim, and click to shoot.

Made by a team of three: Francois van Niekerk, Hilgard Bell, and Leon van Niekerk. This was our first Ludum Dare submission.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#134Fun(Jam)3.29
#155Theme(Jam)3.61
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#242Graphics(Jam)3.32
#291Mood(Jam)2.86
#297Innovation(Jam)2.89
#393Audio(Jam)2.20
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

Could not get it to run. Launching the EXE on Windows 7 just opens a command prompt for a split second then closes.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

"Failed to load library: std.ndll" -- I'll try the Linux version, but it looks like you're missing a runtime or redistributable library. Something like that. Or maybe you can recompile with a static library.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

Same results as the others.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

could not run

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

+1 on not running on Window 7.

Robert says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

Wouldn't run on Windows 7 64 bit AMD. Command line error:

Uncaught exception - load.c(232) : Failed to load library std.ndll

There is a dll called std.dll but not one called std.ndll.

ben657 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

Ran great on windows 8-64bit,good work!

francoisvn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

Thank you for the feedback. We cannot reproduce the error, but we have uploaded a new windows build that could work better, and we are looking at improving it.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:42am

It's fun, i wanted to play more but it keeps crashing for me after a few levels (win7,64). Anyway, i get the concept, it's really cool,i really like it!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50am

Wow, this is amazing!
This graphics are cool and fits very well in the genre of the game. Game mechanics are simple and easy to understand.
I like the choices you've to make at the end of a level.
So that's pretty cool, I played it for a while, and here's my best score: http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/6218/loki2013043009451343.png

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29am

It ran fine on my win7x64 pc... guess I already have the right dll.

Cool game, anyway! You boiled roguelike down to it's core, and made something quite fun to play =]

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Awesome game! I love the simplicity. It ran fine on my Win7 64bit. Kinda hard though, but that's to expect from a roguelike right? :P Cheers!

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Awesome. This game's a blast. I like the symplicity of its core mechanics and the graphical style (the life indication is really clever)

I got one or two crashes (first time I picked up a rifle and one time I was simply shooting a green guy at level 1). And I had to stop my best run to this (the orange thing can't be killed):
http://i.imgur.com/ytdEMR8.png

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53am

Good game! needs a little balance, loosing feels unfair most of the time. I like the style.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

Good game! needs a little balance, loosing feels unfair most of the time. I like the style. Ran without problems for me.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51am

Doesn't work on Linux either. "Error : Could not load module std@get_env__1" The French-style punctuation aside, there is some really bizarre stuff with the way this is packaged on Linux. The tarball does not expand into a directory but instead it poops all over the current directory. All the shared libraries have weird suffixes like .ndll and .dso instead of .so, like they should be. It also bundles a copy of zlib, which should not be necessary because it will always be installed on the system. I am really quite unimpressed with the C++ backend for HaXe, it seems amateurish at best and pisses off and annoys the end-users at worst. Doesn't HaXe have a flash backend? Can you use that?

francoisvn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:48am

@Beldarak: Sorry about the unreachable enemy, we know there is a chance that that happens, but we didn't have the time to prevent it.

@Dietrich Epp: Sorry about the badly packaged Linux build. The builds were really a last minute thing, and we should have spent more time on them. The library suffixes are from HaXe NME and we don't really have any control over them, but I do agree that it is at least a bit confusing. There is a flash backend, but large portions of our code would need to be re-written to run in reasonable time with flash.

We are very sorry about the running problems. We would really like to fix them, but we can't reproduce the problems on any machines we have access to, so we don't really know how to fix them. In the future we will definitely make sure we dedicate some time to this (and eventually submit our fixes upstream).

Thank you to everyone who tried to get the game running, we do appreciate it.

francoisvn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I have uploaded a new Windows build which hopefully fixes the issues people have been having. If not, then I am pretty much at a loss for what to do. Hopefully in the future we can resolve this.

The Linux build has also been updated to not extract everything to the current folder.

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Simple and neat!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Great job,
Pretty hard but reall fun !

xandy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:23pm

game works for me on win7 64bit. but it runs very slow and eats all of my 2.1 dualcore. thegame is fun but i never find a damage upgrade.

Dew says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:52am

Maps are Awesome!! Little bit too tricky :P

Broxxar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:22pm

This is SICK. Honestly the most fun I've had in ~90 LD26 games I've played so far.

Joror says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Aside from a (perceived?) low FPS rate, quite a nice concept and health is nicely represented.

FunByJohn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I reaaallllly liked this concept, especially the way you're presented with all the upgrade options at the end of every level (I went with damage++ every time, seemed to be pretty OP hehe)

More enemy types would've been really cool, but this has the potential to be turned into a much larger awesome game :D

5/5 from me :D

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Dayum it's laggy! But looks like it could be really good fun otherwise.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:49am

I spawned next to a heptagon like five or six times, got thrashed. I manage to take one down once, but got annihilated by a heptagon in the next level. Once I spawned so close to a heptagon it was over before I could even move the mouse. Maybe they are a little too strong?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]