April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE JAMZ

by Musicolor - Jam Entry

Jam and improv while floating through space. Ever wanna jam out but didn't wanna think about technical theory? Stay away from the lanes with skulls, and you'll be in perfect harmony :)

1. Click screen, jam out, and rack up points without hitting the skulls
2. ?????
3. PROFIT!!

For those curious, the keys on the screen represent 1 octave on a piano. The allowed spaces are supposed to correspond to what "sounds good" played with the chords.

Additionally, the scoring is such that less common notes will give you more points and more common notes will give you fewer points. Also, the availability of notes will vary per song. We only had time to put in one, but we have a couple more in the works.


Written in HTML5/JavaScript,
used Quintus framework (http://www.html5quintus.com/)

Developers: Philip Gianfortoni, Stacey Dao
Music & Graphics by: ch4rl33 (http://ch4rl33.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Audio(Jam)4.07
#234Humor(Jam)2.29
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#347Fun(Jam)2.71
#368Theme(Jam)3.00
#406Innovation(Jam)2.52
#443Overall(Jam)2.68
#492Graphics(Jam)2.32
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Ahhh! too many keys!!

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I had too much fun jamming out on this haha

Nambew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I like music game and this small keyboard was fun to play. On my macbook, the two last key ("-", "=") doesn't work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

it works very well! The sound and music are cool. I'm totally jamming.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I know it's supposed to be intuitive, but it would be nice to have an explanation of what's expected. For a while there, I couldn't score any points at all (Don't know if I wasn't focused correctly or what) and I didn't know whether the intent was to press and hold. Also, I'm not sure if it was intentional, but 3, 5, 0 never had 'bad' spots.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

This is a very interesting idea and I supposed it could be quite fun if my computer wasn't that slow (sounds are flickering...always)
As uprightpath said, a quick tutorial could have been nice, but it took me less than 30 seconds to understand

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I don't really know what to do, but it was fun goofing around with...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

At first you don't know what to do, then you just groove a long... Fun game, nice tune! I'm kind of inspired to make a similar game, thank you for that! (I probably won't...)

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

These are banging space jams! Had to check out Charlee's other music. This stuff is terrific.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

There is way to more keys. It's very hard to master the song :D Anyway, the idea was good !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

This was appropriately entered as a Jam entry.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Interesting idea, well-executed. I found it hard to use all the keys, and it would have been cool to have more of a game object/score thing that had more of a goal rather than just accumulating points gradually. I had fun messing around with it - nice work.

sanojian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

This was fun :) I rock!! Okay no I was awful but it was still fun and the music had me bopping in my chair.

Tom 7 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:54am

This was fun! I spent a lot of time intentionally triggering the "bad note" sound since it was my favorite one. Kinda makes me wish I had more sounds to play with.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]