April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniClone

by coding_all_night - Jam Entry

My first ever game and first entry in LD. This is a simple "minimal" space invaders clone written in C++ using SFML [free multimedia C++ API]. Arrow keys to move and spacebar to shoot. At this point there is only an OSX build and one simple level but it has been a fun learning experience!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Sound and graphics were neat, but I had absolutely to chance in ever winning that ;)

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

It fails to open for me. I'm on OS X 10.7.5

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. If I get some time (working) I'll make it a little easier and do a build for 10.7

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

Congrats on your first LD! Looking forward to the 10.7 version. I too made an OS/X game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

Hopefully the 10.7 build works now. I think the 10.7 build is slightly easier than the 10.8 build as the alien's top speed is a little slower.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Looks nice! Will there be some Windows (32bit) version? :)

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Quite nice and simple (unlike some other games here) but it was a bit short - it would have been nice if there was some simple level system (maybe extra ships/quicker ships?)

May 3, 2013 @ 6:28am

Thanks. Definitely would have liked to have a bit of a level system but I ran out of time. I'm busy trying to implement selection sort in x86 assembly for an assignment ;)

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:59am

I don't have a mac :/

Mikel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:44am

Nice, you have to kill them very fast, but it can be done :-)

daniel2357 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Don't have OS/X

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]