April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Blocky Room

by evilDan - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Theme(Jam)3.64
#150Humor(Jam)2.70
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#204Innovation(Jam)3.19
#211Mood(Jam)3.14
#261Overall(Jam)3.16
#281Audio(Jam)2.89
#364Graphics(Jam)2.86
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

Took me a second to realize I'd become horizontal, but once I figured it out, I laughed. Very short, but entertaining. Good job!

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

Neat little puzzle. You should make more levels.

Taro Omiya says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

That was quite an incredible experience! And also very disorienting...

Criticisms: the controls felt odd when ending up sideways. I also suffered from the same problem stevejohnson had, too.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Awesome concept

I particularly found the controls a little bit confusing, but the idea is just awesome!

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I really liked the game while it lasted. It only took me around 10-20 seconds to complete the level. I had fun and liked the solid controls, physics and mechanics (one way platforms + changing the y-axis). Overall it is a good experience and although these mechanics were used previously in other platformers, I felt you used them well in new innovative ways to create a fun experience.

tacograveyard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52am

Short game but clever.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57am

Heh, when the character turned horizontal I thought he had died. Good game!

basspenguin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:59am

Short, sweet and super well done!

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03am

Great graphics and fun puzzle, it'd be great to see more. Well done!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13am

Simple and clever. I think adding a "head" would have helped me; I figured out that I flipped, but I wasn't sure which way.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

art is great (given this minimalist theme). music sounded creepy to me lol but it's good! enjoyed the puzzle man you should make more. Great game!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Too Short, i'd like to play more level
Good concept

Rex Peppers says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Great job. Just... great job. Add more levels -- that was fun!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:03am

Interesting idea. Should pursue it.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Would love to see it a bit more expanded :p

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Excellent job.. very clever mechanic changing gravity and rotation of player. Needs more levels after and perhaps a simpler level one. A multiplayer version would be hilarious on a TV/Console

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Lol, I thought I had died when I reached the green particles, like maybe they were poison or something. Then I realized the game had just gone sideways on me.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:32am

Very neat

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Very smooth and fun game play! Way too short (no pun intended)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Lovely game, wish it was a little longer.

johnfn says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:31am

Fun but of course too short. The controls were a little wacky as well, but I enjoyed it anyways.

messiano says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Awesome concept, too bad it was way too short :). Gravity change was a blast!

euske says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:07am

Reminds me a bit of Thomas was Alone. Good job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Loved the music. As soon as the cloud made me rotate I got excited that the game was going to be pretty complex, all in that room. Alas, that was almost the end. It would have been cool if I had to play it in every direction or something! I had a lot of fun in the short game anyway. Boy can I jump high!

evilDan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:51am

Thanks for playing the game everybody! My next game will be even shorter! (just kidding)

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Interesting concept, transforming in different ways to get to different parts. The game feels solid, only it's a little too short. I think the controls are a mistake, simply use absolute directions instead.

evilDan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:30am

@bvanschooten -
Do you mean when the level goes sideways to have LEFT be the jump button, and UP and DOWN to move on the platforms?

Hmmm, that might resolve the issue... I'll have to give that a try and see if that works.

Thanks for the feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]