April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ColorMeld

by ThreeUp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Color Meld is a game where you try to mix 4 different colors. But at this stage in development, it is more of an experiment than a full game.

I was inspired by some data graphs showing neighbourhoods with high racial segregation. What is a mixing of culture, but a mixing of color?

I hoped to make more paint brush effects on the floor but the deadline came so quickly! Nevertheless here is a fun quick experiment with colors. Press R to play again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#728Innovation2.91
#744Audio2.39
#917Theme3.15
#1017Graphics2.42
#1165Mood2.12
#1303Fun1.76
#1311Overall2.12

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

21.8 seconds. I just put mouse on a blob and kept shaking, and something happened. Then I got a big black blob, and timer stopped.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

I managed to get a time of 26 seconds on my first try, but wasn't able to beat that again. haha.

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Not too sure where you were going with this but it's interesting to mess around with nonetheless.

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

It's worth noting that before the game starts, you can make a ball so tiny that it gets larger again, which causes Unity to crash.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15am

It's not a bad physics simulation, but I don't really understand what's going on with the color combining and the balls breaking off. I played it twice, the first time it stopped at 71 seconds then started again (?) and looked like it would never end. The second run got to 200 seconds before the Unity player crashed, it looked like it tried to join too many little balls simultaneously or something.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

It's fun to play around with, but I don't know that I know what I'm doing

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

Interesting idea. I couldn't figure out how to reliably move the colors. The mixing concept is neat. Played it in the web player.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Neat idea and such an interesting starting point in terms of the data graphs! Kudos for a unique approach to the theme :)

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

I like the concept, but the actual gameplay is a bit clumsy - I'm not exactly sure how I'm supposed to control the color balls (even though I won; took me over a minute, though).

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Interesting concept, fits with the theme, music is a little bit too repetitive.

rezzish says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:47pm

That was a really cool idea!

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:49am

Interesting idea, but feels incomplete (as you said), and slo (unless I was doing something wrong. Sound was pretty good as well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]