April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PUZZLE CUBE

by petrocket - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game involves the user moving a ball up through a cube maze of sorts.

INSTALL (WINDOWS - FIXED!)
1. Unzip the petrocketld26.zip
2. Run petrocketld26/bin/release/PETROCKET_LUDUM_DARE_26.exe

INSTALL (OSX)
1. unzip puzzlecube.app.zip
2. Double-click puzzlecube.app

HOW TO PLAY - GET ON TOP OF THE GIANT CUBE TO WIN
1. Press SPACEBAR to start
2. WASD moves the the ball and SPACEBAR makes the ball tunnel through the cube
3. LEFT / RIGHT ARROWS rotate the row of the giant cube, but they don't move the player with it (bug).


Things that didn't happen due to time
- audio
- cube graphics
- rotating each row of the level (ala rubicks cube)
- player sphere graphics
- gui/menu
- bigger levels & multiple levels

LIVE STREAM OF THIS UP AT: http://twitch.tv/petrocket

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#623Graphics2.94
#657Theme3.44
#867Innovation2.72
#1231Fun2.06
#1272Overall2.28
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

MSVCP100D.dll is not found on this computer. According to a post on msdn, the dll is a part of visual studio but is not in the redistributable package. In the toolbars at the top of the screen in visual studio, you need to change "Debug" to "Release", which will create a releas-ready version to petrocketld26/bin/release

petrocket says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Doh, OK i'll see if i can fix that, I was in a time crunch and the release mode had bugs so i just released the debug version

dapierce says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

Interesting concept and great visual style! The lack of camera or ball motion made it a bit disorienting, but this has a great idea behind it--I especially like how the camera tilts away when you reach an edge and gives you a larger view of the cube so you can see what's ahead.

petrocket says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Thanks! I fixed the DLL bug by fixing the release version and replaced the zip file. Now you have to run the .exe in the release folder instead of the debug folder (which doesn't exist anymore).

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Tried it a few days ago, was sad that the game had an issue. Glad to see it's fixed! :)

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Idea is great and style went into a lovely direction but I hoped that you got a bit more done due to all things dropped. I guess all the moving around mechanic can get quite difficult once you need to respect to player position and so on :)

One thing I noticed in the first seconds is that you cant move around the bottom or top of the cube, which would be even more nice.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very lovely style.

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:48am

The concept is nice, i think it needs more lights and shadows to have a full idea of where is the ball at the moment. Good style.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:20am

Great game idea. Sadly there is only one short level. Nice to see someone using Ogre3D for ld ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]