April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

9

by drilltail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play an 15 second level that becomes increasingly complex nine times.

For each run, your actions are recorded, and then automatically played on top of your new actions in future runs.


I didn't manage my time very well, so a lot of things are left unclear:
- Only things that are red are important in the current layer; you can ignore everything else
- In Layer 6, you want to be swapped (your circle is red) when you are shooting a red triangle, and not swapped otherwise.
- If it's too hard to hit a switch in Layer 9, try pressing a bit earlier than usual.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#300Fun3.27
#390Overall3.33
#559Theme3.53
#735Graphics2.80
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

so faast. have mercy! ._.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

The concept was great! On stage 3, are the positions of the red blocks randomly generated? I tried it after exiting the game once and they appeared in separate locations. The reason I ask is because sometimes I'd fly into them without any time to attack due to the automatic jumping mechanic.

drilltail says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:36am

They are indeed randomly generated; all of the level content is generated as you play, based on your actions in the earlier layers. It tries to always place them where they can be hit, but sometimes it might place one in a really inconvenient spot.

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:09am

I got stuck at layer 6. I really liked the concept of managing only one part of the controls. You should explore it more and make a full game with that. I would totally buy.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Fun idea!

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:59am

Was really fast paced! I liked it! At first I had no idea the character started automatically doing past stuff so I was stuck for a while but in the end it made for a really cool game. Nice job!

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:21am

The layers mechanic was really awesome.

Symmeteer says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:59pm

That was really cool! I liked the 1-key control. Layer 9 was pretty hard. On the other layers, for some reason it seemed to get easier near the end of the layer.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:08am

Neat game and nice layering concept. I wasn't expecting much after playing through layer 1, then I was pleasantly surprised. Layer 9 was tough, but I eventually managed to complete it.

kyyninen says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:10am

Level 9 is murder.

Nsmurf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:17am

Amazing job on this one!
I love how all of the things you've done in the past stack up and make it damn near impossible to focus.

Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]