April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

minimalism

by tchagnon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple touch/click game. Pick the smallest falling line. Progressively gets faster and adds more lines.

Built with libGDX http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com/

Font "Dosis" from Google WebFonts http://www.google.com/fonts/

Font converted with Heiro http://slick.cokeandcode.com/demos/hiero.jnlp

This is my first LD game and first time playing with libGDX, so just trying things out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Theme4.15
#650Innovation3.00
#967Overall2.78
#1060Graphics2.35
#1111Fun2.30
#1210Mood1.95
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Nice idea that could be developed a bit more to include more shapes and figures. Nice for a mobile game.

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

I like the idea that edges of the game matter and bend the perception of lengths.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

Seems fun, but the sticks are really thin, so sometimes they're hard to catch, and since they don't fall at the same time, sometimes the short stick is too far gone before I can tell that it's the short one.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Same thing Test User said. Considering the background is white, the color outside the app is white, it makes it VERY hard to know how much time you have left (web version)

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

The things the previous commenters are complaining about are what made the game interesting imho. Very direct interpretation of the theme. Like+

tchagnon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I wanted to add more shapes, variation in movement direction, etc, but I'm just glad I finished something my first time.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:27am

This is one of the best uses of minimal game components while still having an interesting game.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

There is nowhere near enough distance to fall to tell which is the shortest, and sometimes there are 2 almost identically short. very simple, didn't seem to have any audio. It is only 48 hours, but even my first entry like a few years ago wasn't anywhere near this simple.

mollymus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:38am

Very minimalistic indeed! Good job on the idea and execution of it!:)

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:47am

Can't get far :) But game is nice.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Sometimes, they came so far apart that I didn't get a chance to compare them. Other than that it is a solid game concept!

CiderPunk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:57pm

i got 43!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]