April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CubeMaster

by JimmyLord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

a minimalistic Tetris, with a twist?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#367Fun3.19
#434Humor2.41
#437Theme3.65
#497Graphics3.11
#532Overall3.19
#707Innovation2.94
#758Mood2.68
#1041Audio1.50

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11am

I broke the game by moving onto a pile of blocks right before hitting the ground, which sent the stack sky-high :P

Do the colorful blocks appear later on? They look quite interesting, especially with the overlapping lights.

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:39am

Has a match panic feel to it, nice work! Also loved the camera shake you had as the block hit the ground!

ENP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43am

Great submission keep up the good work!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

I was at like 70 points and I had never let a block land on top of another. Naturally I was like "pffty, what twist? camera shake and lighting?" Then it happened. Cubes... cubes everywhere.

Simple and fun, great work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

Nice job. Fun little game you've got here.

ecool377 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Cool game needs audio

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

You might want to add a fast-drop button since impatient Tetris players might want it. :P

I didn't know there was any twist until I read the comments about stacking blocks -- three in a row seem to always vanish, so I wasn't sure if there was any reason to stack blocks on top of each other. Once I thought I saw a block bounce.

justin35f says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

Great game, run 'Evolved', hold down, win...

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

hilarious, it gets crazy

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Nice work! The lighting is excellent. Ran into a problem with stacking, but overall looks good!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Great. Very simple yet awesome.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

That was sweet, though some music certainly would have helped it out a bit.

Taro Omiya says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

At first, I was like...???

Then I was, Oooooooooooh, that's the twist. Clever, clever!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

I loved this, I wished you had went even crazier with effects and added sounds!

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

sounds would have taken this way further! it was fun as heck with the visual effects and lighting in the higher speeds.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

This is a very simple game, which suits the theme. At first I felt like it was a bit boring, but then the colors start comming, and when you get close to 100 the speed really kicks in. I had fun playing it, although sound would have been very nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

"Weeeell... this is boring..."
...
"OMG WHAT IS HAPPENING?!? PAAAANIIIIIC! XD"

Great game! :D

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

Enjoyed it, but took me quite some time to realize whats happening :D

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

Interesting game, cool concept!

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

I didn't understand whether the colored cubes could be matched in some way and give more score or not, and by only letting the cubes fall I got double the score compared to when I tried to actually form some color matches.
The simple visuals was really cool and I could swear I heard the cubes crash into the ground before I realized there was no sound at all in the game :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

I didn't get it. Is it a tetris with cubes?

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

I thought it was going to be really easy, but by damn it gets fast. Beautiful use of lighting to make a minimalistic but attractive game.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

oooh i whish this had sound. It really needs some nice stomping sounds to make the impact even harder in my opinion :) Really liked how it turned out to be not only another tetris game. Also the lighting looks really nice. Well done.

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Wish it had music! :D otherwise fun

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great idea, love the effects and really enjoyed the shockwaves.

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Awesome game! I love the effects!

Aksami0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

It was nice game.

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

nicely done, I enjoyed the game play, but would have liked better lighting in the scene and maybe some simple-understated textures.

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

At baginning i was, "Oh god that game so boring..."
but when my blocs started to get away of their plan i was like "Wut ? Oh !!! So cool."
Collision feedbacks are really nice.
Gameplay a bit to simple, but works nice.
Good work.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Most things allready said, I like how impatient players will never get to see the fun part

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

This shows how a simple idea can be great fun. The fast action gets your pulse racing, and the multicolor neon cubes look soooo cool! Just needs a funky disco/techno soundtrack and some fx... :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Cute :)

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Nice take on classic.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I really enjoyed the graphics and gameplay, those neat little effects you added are nice, keep up the good work!

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Nice feel of panic after a while when there start to be left overs on the field. Like how it sneaks up on you.

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Wow! I enjoyed this game a lot!! Nice touch about the camera shake. Amazing colors ^_^

Zampi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

That realy cool! Simple and fun

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

wow, that becomes amazing out of nowhere! really wish it had some sounds though! :)

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Simple and fun. Got really hectic after a while.

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The first 10 rows don't prepare you for the next 40, which don't prepare you for the rest :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Fun game. Gets fast kinda quick. Sometimes a bit hard to change lanes when a stack gets stacking.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice rythm to it!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Why didn't you start or at least offered the evolved option from the beginning? I wouldn't mind having more than 3 lanes to work with... Nice lights and shake effect, though.

ming_tea says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Fun! Got pretty crazy at the end.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice touch adding the lighting. Audio would have made this game really come together.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

This reminds me of a game I once made, so of course it's awesome :)

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

NEEEDS MUSIC SOOOO BAD!

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

Good game, although it could have used some sound. At first I thought, "Hmm, this is really easy," and then it got crazy. I liked that the blocks emitted light too, it added a nice graphical touch.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Hahaha, that was fun. Well done, thanks!

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

Good physics engine. Needs some sounds. Good job !

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Wasn't expecting this "Panic!" situation. That was stressful ^^

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Like the simplicity of the idea. Illumination also looks very appealing. As the others already said, this game really needs some good music on background.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Gameplay is nothing special (though it's an OK way to kill a minute or two), but I like the various graphical tricks you played with the blocks, and the increasing difficulty. The fact that the blocks could topple over was a nice touch. In short, very simplistic, but polished.

SPOILERS

I also like that you gave the option to play "pure" or "evolved" once you unlocked the "evolved" level.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

OK, turns out I quit just before things started going crazy. Think I'm gonna have to increase my score a bit...

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Cool to play, bit boring after a while but mania in the meantime. Love it when changes to blocks carrying lights. Nice visuals. Grab away of blocks on completed line is very effective.

TammiLion says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Haha this was so much fun! I was trying to get high stacks and then make them fall over! Loved it ^^

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Gets a bit frantic as it progress. I like the lighting on the coloured blocks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]