April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Virtua Luge

by skwirl3014 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

O_O

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Fun3.83
#158Overall3.66
#186Graphics3.71
#257Mood3.26
#574Audio2.68
#611Theme3.48
#679Innovation2.97
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Lol Sonic 2 inspired? Pretty fun though.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

This was so cool, reminded me a lot of Skyroads. You know, this could make a great mobile game. :)

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

haha this is sweet. dont fear the download guys its just an exe and its cool. a little faster would have been nice maybe, and like.... techno music.

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

Great game! I wish there was some kind of title screen that the game returned to though.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

Cool. It looks like you used a custom software renderer, I like to see things like that. Looks like demoscene graphics. Anyway, I was confused by the noise blocks, I thought they caused damage. I think I got 39 points once I started collecting them.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

This game is quite fun, and the mechanics work very nicely! I find the graphics to be pretty unpleasant, though. And I wish that 1) you could restart after you die without quitting the game and 2) there were some checkpoints so I don't have to start from the beginning every time.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

Cool. It looks like you used a custom software renderer, I like to see things like that. Looks like demoscene graphics. Anyway, I was confused by the noise blocks, I thought they caused damage. I think I got 39 points once I started collecting them.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

Super Fun. Reminds me a bit of marble madness aesthetically. I wish it ramped up in difficulty a little sooner. I almost quit right before it got really interesting. I would have missed out.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

Reminded me of virtual bart. Was surprised the game closes itself on death. Not sure how to get past the larger gap.

skwirl3014 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Press space to jump over the gaps.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

That was really good! I really like the "pixelized 3d" style. Reminds me of the special stages from Sonic 2. were those an inspiration?

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Very nice. I found it very soothing. Very good mechanics.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I like the vintage 3d and it's always exciting to defy the gravity. nicely done

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:08am

The screenshot looks like it's stretching away when I stare at it. Weird...

I really enjoyed this game. It's neat to see a retro 3D style and I really liked it here. The mechanics are solid and it's fun, though sometimes the time between things happening is a bit too long.

At first, I thought that this was going to be a musical game, since those first noise patches sounded like some kind of beat coming on. I wish that this had a musical element, with a nice chiptune that you could add a layer to by rolling back and forth. Kind of like guitar hero if it were a ball in a tube rather than buttons on a road.

Overall, very impressive! Good work!

skwirl3014 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:18am

Sounds like a good idea. A musical version.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:24am

Pretty cool style. Kinda feels like a rhythm game.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Love the graphics on this, very sonic 2 meets skyroads. Could use a bit more speed, and game should not exit on loss.

vapgames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:14am

Cool, i like the controls, really reminds of Sonic bonus levels. And i like how the game exits when you die.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]