April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

When All You Have Is A Hammer All Your Problem Start To Look Like Nails

by The4thCircle - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Theme(Jam)4.33
#118Overall(Jam)3.56
#185Fun(Jam)3.13
#228Innovation(Jam)3.13
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1864Coolness20%

Comments

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I like how you have keep all minimal. It needs some work on the controls, now it's a bit frustrating.

tompudding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Superb introduction to the mechanics! The way they were introduced gradually so I just got each puzzle reminded me of Portal, excellent work.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice game, very fitting with the theme both in terms of gameplay and visuals. At times I had some problems with the controls, but you end up getting used to them.

Good job! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Nice concept, lacks audio :/
The puzzle element was really solid though, liked it a lot!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I wish climbing corners was a bit easier, my technique is pretty button-mashy :)
I'm having a hard time getting past the "hammers are a snug fit" level because of this.
Very cute game otherwise. I like the way you grab and pull those hammers; it has a nice kind of physicality.

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I don't know if I missed something or if something's wrong, but I'm stuck in the room with the violet cube.. (yes the third) Is it normal?

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I was like "that is a cute game" and then I was like "whoah another mechanic but that isn't much" and then I was like "whoah another mechanic but that still is not too much" and then I was like "more mechanics" and then I was like "this is a serious game."

Super job. I kept playing until I got to the end. I didn't want to treat her like a nail but all I had was a hammer.

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Your use of the theme was really great. It's rare that I have that much fun playing a puzzle game.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very, very fun puzzles. I love the scrolling messages every level. You also made great use of minimalism and your mechanic. Well done.

I would have played it all the way through, but I accidentally closed the window on the "Note to self:" level. I might try and beat it someday.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:40pm

P.S. You have a typo in your entry name! You want "Problems."

Tom 7 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:50pm

This is a really good puzzle game! The level design is very sound. The controls are good, but I needed a hint to figure out the early level where I could jump up two spaces... I wish there had been more in-game to help with that idea. Very nice.

It crashed for me on the slinky level after I threw a hammer off and followed it down then hit esc. :(

Misael.K says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:17am

Great level design, good use of the theme (specially in the ASCII maps!).
Controls for climbing up a ledge are unintuitive, took me a while to figure them out.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]