April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Skater Sketcher

by JohnBroadley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS

MOVEMENT:
W - Up
A - Left
S - Down
D - Right

Well since this is my first Ludum Dare, I was relieved to find the theme to be something that was easily achievable, so I went ahead and made 'Skater Sketcher', the idea being that the player could be minimalistic, and do what minimalistic people do best, procrastinate. The game is surprisingly good for time killing, and I've wasted a good few hours of the competition already by drawing pictures, or rather attempting to draw something.

If anyone manages to draw something cool, do send me a screenshot, you can send them to me at - JohnBroadley93@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Mood3.19
#325Graphics3.38
#596Overall3.13
#673Theme3.42
#691Innovation2.96
#724Audio2.42
#777Fun2.74
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

leeowen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

1ST!

Aaants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

Cool, a good one to chill out to. There's 2 icy puns for you :)

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Link is currently broken for the web version!

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Oh, and the windows version.

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Hey, sorry about this, my webhost is currently down! http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/webs.com.html so sorry about this!

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

And literally just as I say that, it's back up. Hallelujah!

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really liked it! Glad you got it all working in the end. Very soothing, lovely graphics and general aesthetic. You nailed the theme too, I think. Well done!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Fuck it.
Chilled!

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40pm

It's fun and smooth, I like it !
(but it could really be fun if you could support AZERTY keyboard also, because that's really hard to draw something with ZQSD :) )

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Thank you! I'll look into fixing that, I wasn't thinking of an international release when I uploaded it sorry! My bad!

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Yep, I successfully procrastinated on that one.
Nice and simple, fits the theme well :)

May 2, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice art style, needs an objective!

JohnBroadley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04am

Thanks, and yeah, unfortunately I only ended up spending about 4-5 hours on this game, and thus there isn't a lot to it at the moment! Will hopefully add to it once I've finished development on my current project, http://www.johnbroadley.com/development

Norgg says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Cute! One random idea: Give the user a random noun to draw, display an online gallery of the attempts.

galman says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice mood :D

hissssssssss says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:12pm

What a clever idea for a simple game. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]