April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Game Without Controls

by methamphetabear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yes, it has NO CONTROLS! But you can still beat the game. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#13Innovation4.20
#42Graphics4.17
#96Humor3.42
#142Theme4.03
#398Mood3.10
#416Overall3.30
#653Audio2.53
#1072Fun2.37

Comments

jim3wg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16am

Looks beautiful !!!

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Is very frustrating not knowing which key to press. But hey, it was fun bang the keyboard.

PD: You owe me a new keyboard >:(.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

The graphics look great! But can't rate because I'm on a mac :/

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28am

Took me a bit to learn the mechanics. Very original and the graphics are beautiful. Good job! :)

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

Great game! Love it! Wonderful use of the whole minimalism. Reminds me of that one game that you'd run and minimize to the tray and it'd just do its own thing. Good job!

Panda313 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

AWESOME ! Graphics are great and the gameplay is really ... well, you'll see. Good job

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

Beautiful graphics and fitting sound. Not fun to play at all, because it's so frustrating.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I'm really intrigued by this game - hoping I remember to try it when I get back to my PC. The art is great.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

one for later ...

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Good graphics!!

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I guess I lost, from what I can tell it behaves randomly and I really don't have several hours of waiting for it to get the right sequence of jumps. As an artistic statement it's fine, as a game it's not very fun.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Interesting concept, but incredibly frustrating :(

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very appealing visuals. The game play was... something.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

The graphics are really nice :)
But how do you play it!?
It has something to do with the time I'm sure, too bad I just couldn't figure it out :(

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Wow, that wasn't fun :) Original though, nice graphics, didn't understand the ending, but, oh well.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I BEAT IT! HILARIOUS ENDING! HAHA!
Genius gameplay, nice graphics, perfect use of theme... Very awesome!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

For those that are stuck... you CAN control it. It's not a random chance sort of thing.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Now that's an end game reward.

bushmango says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

Is there any way to reset it? I'd like to play again to show someone else :)

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

Haven't managed to beat it yet, though I did figure out the trick to it.
The method of control took me too long to use effectively in game, as hazards were simply too close together for me to have a second jump ready. I wound up getting frustrated/impatient and quit. Maybe there's an easier way, or maybe my computer isn't set up right for it.
Either way, it's the most interesting idea I've seen so far, and I hope to beat it later.

niun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

DOH! I really want to play this. :(
Damn my Mac!

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:21am

Absolutely hilarious game mechanic, very innovative and followed the theme. Unfortunately, the game was not fun to play, difficult to control, and had little to no audio. Nice job with the graphics and mood, though!

Axelhein says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:13am

Interesting idea. Super frustrating. Graphics are very pretty. Not very fun, but an interesting idea.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:18am

Funny idea but controlling the game seems rather difficult and prone to break my other software, so I couldn’t go past the first screen. Nice graphics. (Tried under Wine/Linux.)

mcc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:24am

Wait, is this actually Windows only? It looks like just a flash projector.

BNeutral says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:10am

Best use of theme and sub-theme.
One could even say it's a puzzle game as you have to figure out how to make it work.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Well. At least I can give 5/5 in Innovation to this game :) And graphics is really cool. And yeah.. Humor 5/5 also :)

Dohan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Interesting (lack of) controls. I like how the game is a puzzle just by itself, it took me a while to figure it out.

itsZN says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Nice control idea, a little hard to use however....

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Well, I can say that the control scheme is as minimalistic as it gets, although a bit frustrating at times because it seems we can't get the character to do what we want ;). Loved the large pixel graphics, very stylish.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:40pm

How can I re-play it? I finished it once and wanted to show it to someone else, but I wasn't able to find a "New game"-thingy.

Great work btw!

PsenFilip says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:52pm

This game is very intriguing. Absolutely loved the controls, even though I couldn't really play it properly (too much of a hassle).
Quite hilarious and innovative!

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Insane idea. Difficult and thankfully very short :p

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Was a pretty interesting game to play, shame my system clock got beat as a result of winning. Oh well, nice job anyway.

Hayawi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Definitely a must play for anyone wanting a challenge -.-

Tom 7 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:06am

OMG, I love it. It reminds me of my favorite episode of MacGyver ("Hell Week") and it was a joy to figure out.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:16am

quirky -- loved the style tho -- great job!

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:38am

Really cute and enticing. Wish I could figure a quicker way to change my system's time.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I WON! Gorgeous pixel art and very clever theme. Wish I hadn't read the comments first since they spoiled figuring out the basic mechanic.

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:45am

awesome awesome awesome!

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:03am

Nice ending screen, but I have no idea of what time it is now... :)

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Ah ah ah, excellent twist on the theme :)

SPOILER WARNING !!




I really hated you on the double jump sequence.

GFM says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

This is amazing!
I had never played anything like this before!

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Oh my goodness, I actually did it.
Devious game mechanic!
I think I might have to carve off a point for minimalism for having one of the most roundabout methods of victory ever, but I might have to add it back on again for not technically existing "within the game"
Very nice work (and the graphics are beautifully done!
High scores ahead!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]