April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Block Run R -First LD-

by MrBlade - Jam Entry

Wow! I Completed my first LD! What a rush. I am only 14, so entering an "official" competition seemed like quite an intimidating task at first.

My game is a very minimalistic side scrolling sort of platformer. the main point is collect potatoes. When a potato is collected, your score goes up by one. When you reach five, you win. My game is available on all platforms.
Not only was this sort of a challenge for me to create within the 15 or 20 hours I actually had to do this (School, actually sleeping) this was the first time I have ever made a game with an ending, seeing as I OFTEN never finish my games.

I am pretty pleased with the result, but if I had some more time, I might have done some things different, one of those being the potatoes, I just found a potato and failed at modeling it. (Potato shapes are actually kind of hard.)
Anyway, play it let me know what you think.

*Programs Used*
-Unity
-Blender
-Paint
-Monodevelop

(Special thanks to Caleb Jones, Would not have been able to get this done without you. My thanks also goes out to Steven, thanks for all of those bug catches.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Humor(Jam)2.40
#289Theme(Jam)3.21
#444Fun(Jam)2.36
#450Mood(Jam)2.36
#478Overall(Jam)2.57
#504Graphics(Jam)2.26
#528Innovation(Jam)1.88
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08am

Pretty nice! The jumping is a little bit unreliable if you're already moving though.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Good job on creating this at your age. Love to see more of your games in the future! Keep at it!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I had some minor issues clipping through platforms, but I enjoyed the single point perspective of each platform. It added a surprising amount of depth to a one color object.

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Yay! Potatoes. Love the style. The collision detection needs to be finished a little. It would be fun to see more.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

FUN! I love the 2.5D so good!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Good attempt. try to make some more levels maybe

tzamora says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:36am

Too simple.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:27pm

It may be too simple, but it surely is a nice work for a first entry though. :)

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Good work, especially for one your age. If you wanna improve the game, add some more challenge to it. Enemies perhaps? Once again, good job on this.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Not the best, but still interesting!

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Likes your take on the theme

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Great job! This is a nice product for your first LD :)

I jumped into the abyss to see what would happen and I was happy it restarted me at the beginning. However, if you wipe the score and don't reset the potatoes then I can't win! It could use some music and sound effects.

MrBlade says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:21pm

@Nick Cash If you jump off three times, it resets the level. Thank you for your input.

Nisshoku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Good job! Next time, spend a little more time on an ending screen and perhaps a tutorial screen. Level reloading was a bit buggy.

May 10, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Has issues, but at your age, I couldn't have done it any better, I guess... :)

ovenchips says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Well done MrBlade. Considering you're 14 and this is your first entry to LD, you should be very proud of yourself. Although there's only one level, you have the foundation to build more levels very quickly. Good that you got a moving platform in there. Little tip: put some audio in, even if it doesn't sound great (like a jump noise, and a potato pick up noise). Check out http://www.bfxr.net/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]