April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Protect!

by kruse230 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I used the UMN VGDC JavaScript library to create this game.
The game only seems to work in Firefox and Google Chrome.
Download the zip and open the html file in order to play.
Try to protect the ball from the arrows as long as you can.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Doesn't seem to work. :( I just see the text, nothing else:

"Move with left/right.
Main Goal: beat level 5.
Ultimate Goal: beat level 10."

kruse230 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Try using Firefox or Google Chrome instead of Internet Explorer

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I already tried it with both.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Well, it worked for me (and on a Mac) - you should really update this so that there's links to the same file for Mac OS X and Linux, as HTML *is* cross-platform. If anything, I actually found the game too slow, and I would have preferred it to have started faster.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

That song is rockin'

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

Worked for me. The idea is interesting and the game IS minimal, but you could really use a "mute" button or a better looping music :) And the game is a bit slow unfortunately.

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:09am

I agree, it's a bit slow: it's not about performance, maybe width mouse interaction for the blue bar and arrows falling faster there's more challenge ;)

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:10am

Not bad, the comments say there is music, but I don't hear any. Nice basic idea though. I just wish it moved a bit faster. Also I feel like hosting a web version of this on Dropbox would be easier, it seems like it would work fine that way.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:13am

Kind of fun, but pretty hard - I had a really hard time making it past level 3. It might be more fun if your paddle could move more quickly - sometimes there was just no way to intercept all the arrows. Nice work, though.

MinionStudios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:04pm

It works well and is challenging!

May 20, 2013 @ 9:23am

I like the balance between protecting the ball itself and the floor it's rolling on. A bit too simple and moves too slowly, but it definitely works. The music was straight-up arcade cabinet, which is awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]