April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hurdles

by dreamlogician - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hurdles is a game of minimal input. You must help your runners overcome obstacles, but each time you assist them you also create more complexity for yourself.

You will need to react quickly, but to truly succeed you must also be judicious in choosing the most strategic moments to intervene. If you can keep a runner alive long enough to become self-sufficient, you'll be able to sit back and reap the benefits.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#11Innovation4.23
#198Theme3.94
#406Overall3.31
#485Fun3.06
#580Humor2.19
#725Mood2.72
#775Graphics2.74

Comments

Tanius says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:31pm

uahahaha genius! When i realize what i had to i was in panic *-*

derdragon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I am impressed. Excellent, artistic use of the theme. Strangely felt like I was creating art as it progressed. Might be neat if some of the cells took on different sizes. Very neat idea!

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Getting a red jumper stuck on a blue box is kind of annoying.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Too much quick reaction for me. Sounds very interestong, but I didn't get it :(.

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

haha this is awesome, but it ramps up to impossible too quickly. stagger the introduction of the higher ramps for a more gentle learning curve!

it's really a pretty brilliant design, though.

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Very cool idea, I've never seen it before! Takes a while to get used to and in my case it degenerated into a bout of fitfull clicking. But still, I like the idea!

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Are the runners supposed to sometimes get stuck on hurdles of their color or lower? That seems to happen sometimes.

I really like the idea of the game, and the way you have to spread you attention all over the place. I never really felt like I was going to lose all of the runners (since I could just click to get another one) but I did feel concerned about individual runners.

My high score is 224.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:58pm

That was spammy :D

Although it became a bit boring after a few minutes, and then it took like 5 minutes for the last 3 red runners to die. But extremely cool and original concept, well fitting the theme :)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44pm

The concept is brilliant, really original. Congratulations!

Perhaps I just didn't get to play enough to see them, but are all the runners of the same type? If so, maybe adding some variety could add more flexibility without detracting from the core experience.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

This. This game is what Ludum Dare is about. Amazing. Only thing that would've made this nice is a way to see how I was doing as I try different strategies so I would get feedback on how those strategies were doing (like "points per minute").

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

Very minimalist, yet still fun! Things can get crazy very quickly!

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Needed to click so fast :D Very original and fun to try!

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I really liked the way how more and more screens kept appearing. Good mechanic!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Very clever. Gets quite frantic.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:31am

Very unique idea. I enjoyed it, but never really learned the strategy. High Score: 56 :(

sparkleswirl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:34am

It was a little frustrating seeing my super awesome jumpers get stumped by a blue hurdle, but overall this is a great and really innovation game!

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Final score: 280. Fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]