April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Broken Sat-Nav, 3:12AM, 3013

by df2013 - Jam Entry

Drive a space-van, dodge some space-crap.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#166Humor(Jam)2.62
#222Theme(Jam)3.41
#339Fun(Jam)2.73
#358Innovation(Jam)2.70
#384Mood(Jam)2.59
#392Graphics(Jam)2.76
#394Overall(Jam)2.82

Comments

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

love the minimalism. control is cool but i sometimes seem to hti songething that isn't even on screen?

myachin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

very cool control

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Often would move around the screen just because I was worried about having objects appear underneath my character. Liked the visual indication of speed and location and direction and whatnot. A fun little game, if not very deep or complex.

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49am

Control scheme is interesting an original feeling, but not very fun and easy to make mistakes.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Enjoyable game. The hit box felt big, or at least things felt like they hit sooner than I thought they would.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

Interesting controls!

lambomang says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00am

Love the control scheme.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Great controls, nice game :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Cool game and great concept :)

tompudding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

The square stars were cool, as was the pop up text. There could be more to it though, it was a little dull.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:01pm

nooo, I died :-(

Mach60KAS says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:34pm

That was pretty weird, but some of the text made me laugh. :) Fits the theme really well and controls quite nicely. Well done!

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Interesting controls! cool game, congrats.

kibertoad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:32pm

fu#king pringles got me, man!

ashdnazg says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice game :)

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:08pm

It could do with some sound / music, but otherwise a good entry. I'm glad I read the .ini file (scored a few extra humour points there!)

GingerMess says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Could have used some sound, especially when you hit something. I know there's no sound in space. Damnit!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Good idea but it's hard to see the hit box of the asteroid.

JonathanG says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Interesting control scheme, and fits the theme well. Wasn't clear why I died sometimes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]