April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Save the potato!

by loxo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare. Actually, I didn't want to participate this time, but the theme seemed simple :) I tried several ideas, but none was much fun to play. So this is the best I could come up in the last few hours, a simple idea and I'm sure not very original. If I had started this earlier, then I would have tried to add sound effects, music, better graphics and especially a better level generator with branching and dead ends.

The game is controlled by one key only, to keep it minimalistic. The SPACE BAR is used to switch the direction of the flying space potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#294Humor2.67
#381Theme3.72
#458Fun3.09
#884Innovation2.68
#905Overall2.84
#984Mood2.43
#1036Audio1.52
#1066Graphics2.34

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

And still it's fun and challenging :)
Really enjoy the control scheme. Potato art is awesom

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Welcome to ludum dare! Nice one for a first ludum dare entry. Some basic sound effects could be nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

I liked having no sound, fits the theme and setting (in space). I found the 3 second countdown at the start of each retry to break the flow really horribly. I would just start the retry maybe .2 seconds after death.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Despite your sad story this is a pretty cool minimal game idea. It would benefit a lot from starting easy and ramping up.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Interesting. One of those infinite runner types (like Canabalt). You should continue to improve it.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Not bad, reminds me of a game I used to have on the TI-89. Drifter, I think it was called. Fits the theme and shows you can make a game with only one input :). Felt a little unresponsive though, it seemed like you switch direction when the spacebar comes back up. Might feel a bit better if it happened when you push it down.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Wow, there's so many potatoes in LD :)

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

3 humor stars for saying it was a flying space potato ;-)

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

The controls could be more responsive or you need more control over the character. It's a little frustrating. Great minimalism though!

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Perhaps you can put a 'restart' button so that we don't need to break our F5? :)

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Nice game, very hard, my record is only 12 seconds. Damm you potato!

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

OMG this potato is tricky to control lol..
pretty challenging 'endless-scroller'.
good idea on minimal controls: just spacebar

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23am

Nice, simple, challenging game. Good job buddy!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Cool idea, but it can be frustrating it should start easy though :p.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Waah!?
Guess I killed my spacebar. Nice minimalistic reaction game. I liked it. Too difficult for me.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Nice attempt and welcome to Ludum Dare! It's far too difficult and the cooldown is too long. Don't forget to upload the source code! :)

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

A surprisingly fun game. Good job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Challenging, although I feel that the potato could take sharper turns.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52am

I would like to see the potato change directions quicker, I noticed the spacebar delay thing. Also raincole, you can press space to restart.

And I don't like the countdown after restarting. Otherwise, great use of double theme! :)

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

For a few hours and a first try very good. I actually like the graphics.
Minimal game control with just the space, so fits the theme.
You suggestion of different routes and dead ends could be good.
'Save the potato' will probably be seen more (I know my game is about that).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Wow, The one button control made what could have been an incredibly boring concept really fun and engaging.. I'm hooked! Would have been better with music though!

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Can't beat 20 secondes! Good game, simple but efficient.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I liked the noize background and minimalistic controls.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Tough game!

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Pretty neat idea, and very challenging! I can do about as well in this game as super hexagon...haha...only about 13.9 seconds! Some audio would have added a lot to this entry. Good job :)

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

cool first game :) it works fine in firefox but in chrome "26.0.1410.64 m" you can't see the game when it's running :(

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:19pm

18:55 :-(

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Very addictive! I managed to stay alive over 30 seconds, but it wasn't easy :)

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I liked playing your game! It reminds me of the good old "fly the copter". With a procedurally generated level and sone sfx your entry could even be as much fun as this classical coffebreak-timewaster. Nice work!

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Fun! I wish the downtime between game over, countdown, and go was faster. With weak times like mine i was waiting more than playing. 16.57

foul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:50pm

This game is perfect ! (except the 'a bit' lagging space)
I thought I used the space key in a minimalistic way in my game.. but your implementation beat my illusions :D
my score is only 24.28 by the way :p

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice! I like the procedural level and the simple mechanics. Frustrating but still keeps you playing. Good job!

rujo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:19am

the idea is nice and the visual very minimalist, but i think it needed a little more time for improvements.
still a nice entry!
also potato

amodo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:19am

I like this very much. As simple as it is, I had to give it a few tries, probably *because* of the simplicity. Good jerb.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:32am

Interesting, congrats on your first LD entry. Good job!

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I got ~95 seconds after a couple of tries. You said you didn't think this was too original but I actually think the opposite. I haven't seen a game that works like this! Maybe I just live under a rock or something, but yeah, I actually thought it was pretty innovative. A good first entry.

Cyboot says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice and and fun to play. And fitting to the theme

My Highscore was ca. 23 sec

lorancou says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:11pm

10.29

You should add a high score …

Fun and challenging by the way

YSelf Tool says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Hard... Yey!
HTML5... Yey!
Random maps and sounds would be nice.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:56pm

When it comes to fun this is my favorite so far.
Because of the fixed level layout it became extremely addicting trying to get into the zone by memorizing the past and reacting to the new.

A few alternative ideas concerning the mechanic popped into mind while playing (just don't change the game, ok):

-The potato could bounce from vertical walls, and only smash into horizontal ones.

-Rather than flying in the middle the potato could travel on the side of the passage and pressing space would just reverse gravity.

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I really like the control scheme. Totally minimalistic and totally works.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Cool idea. I liked the minimalist controls and hard level design. Good job. Keep making games!

May 10, 2013 @ 4:11am

Pretty decent,fellow first-timer! :)
I think you did a good job sticking to the theme and I think the lack of sound added to that fact.

yellowlemming says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:41pm

very nice fun and challenging game, music would make it better and the potato felt a little unresponsive as in it was slightly slow to react

KEFIR says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:50am

It was really fun. A bit too hardcore imo.. My reocrd is 16 :)

May 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I need to get back and play this sometime.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]