April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Extermitrons

by inko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Space station in space is overrun by space bugs. You are commanding a group of 3 brave robots with the mission to save the day and blow stuff up.

I have to admit I kinda got off topic after the first day. The idea was to take a very complex and input heavy genre like realtime-strategy and remove everything up to its bare essentials. You have a single way of interacting with your robots to fight the bug hordes so instead of giving them active targets or selecting abilities, it becomes more about the positioning of the characters to each other. This different pacing also needs a faster selection system.
Now I'm honestly not sure if there is anyone apart from myself that actually enjoys this selection system but I find it quite fun. Very experimental and takes a while to get used to, but fun none the less.

Unfortunately I majorly ran out of time at the end which resulted in super messy code and a lot of cuts. But oh well, here it is world: Extermitrons!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

This was a ton of fun to play! Loved it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

A real-time-strategy-action-thing? Impressive!

Love the idea and evironment. Took me a while to figure out how to control guys though.

jordo834 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Awesome! It's a really fun game and I'd love to see you take it further outside of LD!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

This is an insanely cool concept - I love how you control the guys! I found the pace of the game started frustratingly slow though, standing around hacking wasn't very fun, even if I could split them up for efficiency.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Love it! That control scheme is perfectly great. Poor number 3 got it when we got surrounded. Love the animations too.

Uhfgood says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:12pm

This is pretty cool, it still fully fit in the theme and yet is somewhat complex. I'll have to play it more later. Only problem was, number 2 was killed off, and he was the one that was supposed to be hacking, so need a way to mitigate that, maybe make the others able to do it but at a much slower pace, also bugs should show up when you're hacking, to give that extra element of the clock ticking.

Benjamin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Great game, very impressive ammount of work for a 48h compo. I'm not sure if red and green have special habilities ( other than guns characteristics ) but I think the game definitively need a corpse remover class :) I spent a lot of time waiting them to disappear to pass a door or continue to shoot the remaining aliens. Apart of that the game is well balanced and really success to deliver the cornered space marines vs alien fights atmosphere

Jezzamon says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:31am

I like this!

It wasn't THAT minimalistic, but was at least kinda minimalistic.

The sound effects that played when you selected a player, (made in sfxr I'm guessing) unfortunately clashed with each other... would've been cool if they harmonised.

I couldn't complete any of the goals, but I still had fun. I liked the way the enemies' bodies piled up, and blocked more enemies chasing you.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]