April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fight

by dreemernj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sadly, I did not have much free time this weekend to give to Ludum Dare. I decided to go for a minimalist fighting game.

The game itself is minimalist. You can move, punch and block. It counts wins, but the game never ends, since that's how fighting games are. You just keep fighting new opponents.

The development process was minimalist as well. It is a single HTML file. It was written in Notepad++ on an 8 year old laptop. It loads no graphics or libraries. It has no embedded artwork. It uses HTML, CSS and JavaScript (no canvas).

I didn't have time to test it thoroughly, but it should be playable on Chrome, Opera and IE (only tested in 8). Maybe Firefox as well. The gradients are a bit messed up in IE.

Adding new attacks to the game should be easy. There just wasn't time. It was more important to get it finished enough to submit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1022Theme3.00
#1197Graphics2.13
#1238Fun2.00
#1248Innovation2.00
#1284Overall2.24
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

Really good, I'd say. Perhaps with a bit more time, things could be fixed?

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

not bad, it's a good start. the movement is a bit slow and there's not a lot to do in the game. I like the idea of the floaty block hands.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

The idea is very good, and you've done a lot with almost nothing. It's a real shame you didn't have more time, this game could have been so much more.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

Our own street fighter form LD48 :D
I like fighting genres

Done rating :)

Please do share some love and rate on my game too :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40am

Nice visual/tech demo. Needs work to be a game and fun, but I'm amazed how well the simple blocks worked at representing fighters. There's enough here to keep going. Could be a very stylized game.

caporaltito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47am

Is it only multiplayer ? Too bad, the game seems great.

d_durham says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Actually pretty nice start, and it matches the theme well. Would like to see a more polished version.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

does going out of the screen have a purpose, I just wonder

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]