April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic Life

by wonderwhy-er - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game Play Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=0XT0c58p5Zc

Uploading in last moments.

Known issues:
- Does not turn off on android - Fixed
- Precision of putting blocks - Fixed
- On level with spinner zooming is requirement to progress


Bad UX/UI :) Will be fixed in postmoretem version

Its inspired by games like this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZzrJrmcItMU

Toys like this
http://tonematrix.audiotool.com/

And videos like this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2vgICfQawE

And obviously needs a lot more of work and testing.
But I think potentially power of idea is great, just failed to bring it out in 48 hours, well that's for postmortem post.

UPDATE: Fixed small bugs, and uploaded source

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#386Theme3.71
#411Innovation3.30
#435Audio2.90
#713Mood2.73
#800Overall2.94
#819Humor1.88
#853Graphics2.66
#952Fun2.55

Comments

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I really enjoyed playing around with with this one, but I found the drop and drag a little imprecise at times.

Good work overall

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Hi, TechMonkay, thanks.
I know, will be working on a fix little bit later for precision. Noticed the problem too late.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

This is awesome. I'll let you sleep now.
Oh, and I love how the sounds played!
One thing that annoyed me was that it was too easy to restart the game, it frustrated me some times. D:

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Well I slept for 5 hours already, and am working on the fix for position bug.

As for restart and stuff, sadly on side of "content" and "balance" I failed this time but I plan to use this prototype to make proper balanced games on it later, will see, any feedback and ideas are welcome ;)

Hmm, and yeah sounds is curious part of it, I am thinking on allowing different sample packs later when I improve how sound system works, could make for great procedural music toy ;) Convay's song of life and death :D

techmonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

Yeah with polish I think it will make a great game

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

That's the first time I've seen a "game" aspect added to life - nice one :) I almost didn't get past the spinner at the first though because I didn't zoom out far enough for the "Next" button to pop up...

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11am

Thanks RogueNoodle :D I was amazed too that I did not seen Game of Life made in to actual Game yet too, even though its a great "platform" for game making. Lot of research in to various structures, simple rules and game that may be as powerful as Go/Chess or other puzzle/strategy games.

On zoom yeah, my mistake, I fixed it a little in later version but it was probably bad idea to put it in to "requirement", while it was a bad idea to not put it in to a requirement too... Just lacked time to make it better.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

I think the idea of making Conway's Game of Life is a neat idea, unfortunately, since this sim has a rather chaotic way of functioning, to make it worthwhile, a REALLY good UI needs to be implemented.

For starters, restart shouldn't erase what pixels have been placed, and we should be able to just click to place.

Great work on having red and green cells interact in an interesting way, and I love the way the sound works

DarkX2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

A nice touch an "A Game of Life". I enjoyed destroying some stuff but well, we all have seen this before :)

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Great "classic" adaptation. I have to agree with prev comments that controlls are a bit "chunky"

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Hey guys, if you seen games made out of Conway's Game Of Life please share! Would love to check them out.

Funkiside says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Found it:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/squidsquid/the-irregulargame-of-life
Spent long time playing it few years ago, check this variation u'll like it.
Anyway thanks for reminding me of game of life.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Just a comment ( I can't rate it, and here's why... ) on the tutorial with the introduction to the spinner on the web version, I can't seem to get past that ? Play, reset, dragging it all work, but there's no next button to proceed.
What am I missing ?

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Funkiside, thanks! Not exactly kind of game I want to make but still cool :)

GaminYourWay, yeah, need to improve text ;(
You need to pinck/mouse wheel to zoom in or out.
So you need to survive and learn to zoom in and out.

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Very interesting idea.
The game isn't really playable yet unless you already know about the Game Of Life mechanics (which you do obviously, your gameplay footage is quite impressive!)
Please go on with it I'd be glad to play a finished version.
(btw the sounds and visuals work great)

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

Thnaks glbs
Yeah idea is way better then implementation at this point.

I will create a blog/fb page latter I guess when I will have new results I can show.

As for my footage, joke is that its structures I learned while I was making it :D Some purely by accident.
As for last level shown it was pure dumb lack on my second try, which is not good actually for a game, that I passed it quickly on dumb luck >:(

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice game version of the not-really-a-game Conway's Game of Life :-) I liked the visuals with the zoomed in view having borders and the generated sounds based on the ongoing movement.
Dragging each Pixel out was a bit tedious though. But just drawing on the field would probably make it too easy.

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51am

Bernhard, reason for dragging is that I am actually was aiming at game that works both in browser and on mobile, also initially there was a feature to drag and rotate various shapes. I just did not got to making more levels where you can start using them.

Though right now I am thinking that first I will go in direction of "one pixel per step"

Still on mobile there is problem of precision so you need to see where you are putting the pixel before putting it somehow. But it still can be done differently in better UX fashion, I agree.

Really thanks for input!

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09am

Wow. That's a really cool idea. And synched up great with the piano tones! Awesome!

It did get a bit too difficult for me to figure out what shapes were good and which weren't. But all in all, really cool!

wzl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Interesting attempt to make a game out of the game of life. Quite intruiging really.

Also i fixed my entry, so if you'd like to check it out again, you should be able to play it now! :)

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:23pm

@Jod
Thanks!
Yeah piano thingy was one of my "wishes" for it and it worked better then I excerpted from 48 hour experiment.

As for difficult to predict. I have number of ideas of where to go with, difficulty to predict is one of things to solve and I have idea.

Though there is bigger problem as there are shapes that create almost chaotic explosions of "complexity" which from game design perspective are unbalanced. So I will need to think of ways to work around it. But I do have few ideas already :)

@wzl
Thanks :) And yeah, when idea came to me I was too intrigued to not try it :D

Cool, checked and your game is as good as it looks on screenshots, which are good :D Rated!

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:57pm

What an awesome and minimalism like idea. The drag and drop was a little off. Everything else is great (and quite mind-boggling ;) )

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I like game of life too. Nice sounds. Good in-game mood.

ethankennerly says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:53am

The tutorial and goals of destroying some blocks interested and rewarded me. If you continue to develop this, sometimes when I was dragging a pixel it felt hard to see and place it.

euwaku says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:37am

A game of life that is finally... a real game :D (nice puzzle game plus!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]