April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GHOSTS - Minimalistic horror game.

by bummzack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalistic horror game. You are glowing in the dark. Ghosts do not like the light and will chase you. Survive and find the exit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#15Mood4.15
#41Audio3.89
#162Overall3.65
#176Theme3.98
#217Fun3.40
#311Graphics3.40
#648Humor2.10
#650Innovation3.00

Comments

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Nice work ! The music and graphics do wonders for setting the mood !

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

Music did wonders for the mood. Simple concept, and pulled off well :D.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

The first ghost actually made me jump out of my seat! Well done!

I would like it if things were zoomed in more so I could see if better though.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

well done. Resolution was a bit too tiny though maybe.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Great idea, great audio, and the simplistic graphics were a delight. Very good!

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Great atmosphere! I like the graphics.

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

Graphics and audio is great! I didn't expect it, but got scared (heart racing even) everytime I had to escape a ghost! I'd like a bigger window to see a bit better however.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Cool pixel-y lighting effect! Nice work

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Great ! i like it a lot :D

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

LOTS OF SCARES CRAMMED INTO THIS LITTLE BOX! I've heard that audio elsewhere before, though, so I can't rate you as highly on Audio and Mood. :(

I'll be passing this game around to my friends. Lots of fun!

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

Amazing!!! Minimalist and scary!! Sometime "Press any key" do nothing, I have to press and press...

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

C'mon, man. Jump scares? Too spooky.
This is a good minimalist concept though, also that raycasting is kewl.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Good work, a bit too smaill though.

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

I like the atmosphere, especially with the audio and the shadows :)

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Funny. :)

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

I like this a lot. Very simple, but executed very well. Good work.

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Awesome game! And quite scary too, actually.
Graphics and sounds are great!

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

The audio and lightning makes everything perfect. Would really like to see something like this but bigger in the future.

muton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Really like this, but I can only sensibly play it with my browser zoomed to the max!

Ivan_ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Really interesting game. And I like the shadows

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

pretty awesome! The second level is quite hard tough. I like the graphics. Bigger screen would be nice :)

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Fantastic audio work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

:D:D!! Excellent! Love it. Excellent. Thou there are some rules regarding using music. As in "make your own" :].

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

It's a terrifying tiny box.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Great!!! One of my favourites!

sirdorius says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:49am

Fantastic. My only gripe with this game is the small resolution.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:29am

I like the ambient and the mood!
Good job!:p

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:19am

Pretty well!
Despite minimalistic design, atmosphere is horrifying =)

bummzack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:29pm

To everyone that has played, voted and rated my game: Thanks a lot. It means a lot to me.

This was my first time I participated in ludum dare and it was a blast. Apparently I violated a rule by not creating the music by myself... will definitely do that the next time I participate!

robotality says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Great music, this really pushed the atmosphere! Great job.

rezzish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I thought it was kind of cute actually. And those shadows look really good.

Detocroix says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Excellent mood. It wasn't scary as such, but very tense!

MathiO says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great entry! Terrific sense of tension, sometimes compounded when I got momentarily stuck on a wall. I really like the balance of having light increase as time passes (allowing you to see more) with the fact that this will likely attract more ghosts, plus the crescendoing music on top of it all!

dector says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice minimalistic work!

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:15am

Amazing mood, It's incredible how scary it actually is even though it fits the theme. Really great work!

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:23am

Hehe the mood and music are scary!^^

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

daredevildave says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Eeeek!

ovenchips says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:42pm

The audio is the star here. It really shows how easily a player can be put on edge. Nicely done!

May 20, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Enjoyed the mood and audio a lot. Wish the screen was bigger?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]