April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

one life

by thatwhichis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Notes update: I guess I could point out there are two possible endings? lol

Original text: I actually made this game in about six hours. Would have put more into it but was at a wedding for the first half of the weekend- STUPID LOVE.

I would absolutely love to have had time to make music for this thing.

First time using Construct 2, downloaded when I saw it mentioned on the "Ludum Deals" page to try it out. Used PS for some quick drawring.

Note: this was built and tested for HTML5, can't rightly speak to the Win8 version, but it has a little red asterisk next to it so I exported one.

***UPDATE 5/8/2015: Changed hosts, updated links - same version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#52Humor3.67
#486Mood2.98
#559Theme3.53
#811Innovation2.79
#1009Fun2.46
#1078Audio1.30
#1120Overall2.58
#1176Graphics2.17

Comments

nhmllr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Gotta admit, that was pretty funny

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

That gave me a laugh!

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

hahaha funny entry

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I'm glad you guys enjoy, but I'm starting to worry that all of you are throwing yourselves off the cliff!

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

thank you.

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

That was really deep, honestly. I'm glad you mentioned there were two endings, because, like everyone else I'm sure, I jumped off the cliff at first. But that was a really nice ending as well. :)

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

peggiosoft: thank you!

BipoleMoment: yeah, it's a little rough, because you want to just release your creations into the wild and let people walk away with what they find for themselves, but at the same time... I'm proud of my work and want people in the competition to experience everything the game has to offer. Ultimately, I'm just happy if anyone connects. :-)

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

That made me so angry. haha

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

HAHAHAHA, I wasn't paying attention! Good stuff! Hahaha...

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very funny!, and little bit cruel haha

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Hehe. I need that. =)

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

the old classic of daring someone not to press that button. I killed him a few times. good stuff.

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I like it (both endings). +1 for the Gattaca reference.

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

This made me laugh! 5/5 would hit space bar again.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Uh... lol?

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I liked the concept a lot - I think better graphics and audio would make the experience a lot more powerful though.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Ha ha ha. :)

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Perfect for the theme. I think this is the only game I've played so far that has something to say beyond the game itself.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Thank you all for taking the time to play and leave your feedback. I hope all of you are enjoying in some way!

igrowbeards: I agree, and I think I would like to develop this one further toward the original vision in the near future.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

lol, i`m... dead... D=

it`s kind of a thing to think about... life and all that stuff xD

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Deep dude. Well done :)

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Love it. Reminds me of my own, actually.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I have to admit, I laughed out loud once it put me in the game. I think you win the humor in LD!

Very honest and humble game!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I think perhaps you should've had some opening dialogue to explain what was going on. Make it clear that this guy is standing at the edge of a cliff, about to jump to his own demise. I assume many players, like myself, at first assumed this was going to be some strange platformer adventure, so we press space to see what happens, but the game just ends. This leaves us to believe that you were just having some fun with us like many LD entries do. However, upon reading that there were two endings, it became immediately clear to me how much more depth there was to this game. The dialogue that you eventually experience may have been a bit cheesy, but it was effective. I feel like I was entering the mind of someone standing at the edge of a cliff and introspectively examining his life and the choices he has made, and after this introspective journey I was able to walk away from the cliff and resume my life. It's a shame that many who play this might not get to experience that simply because you failed to make it clear what the gameplay mechanic actually is. Maybe if instead of "press space to move right" you had said "press space to jump off the cliff, do nothing to wait a while more" Many more players would've had a more meaningful experience, without you having to hold their hand and explain "There is another ending that you guys are missing." I think you had you made some small change like that, you would've created quite a meaningful interactive narrative. As it stands, you're just a bit short of that, in my oppinion.

Some other thoughts: I wish the game had music as well, but I understand you didn't have time for that. The text seemed to take a bit too long, especially in the beginning, but maybe I'm just a fast reader. Interesting concept, I look forward to your future LDs.

thatwhichis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Fritzendugan: Thank you for the detailed response!

I'm definitely learning a lot from this experience and everyone's comments. Please believe me when I say I am taking them to heart.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Not really funny, but a deep experience... I would just leave it as it is, maybe with better graphics and some sound. I'd say it doesn't need any more introductions or better instructions. If you jump of the cliff more than once and don't know what else to do, that's your own fault... ! ;)

May 5, 2013 @ 3:04am

Pretty funny haha. I lost my one life, i'm sad :(

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:30am

Is that it? :) Well. Funny :)

kyru says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Theme to the limit, I like it. Good game.

thatwhichis says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:11am

!!! I made my goal of 100 games rated! ^_^'

I think I got everyone here; if I missed anyone, please let me know! See if I can get in a couple extra between now and the deadline. :-D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]