April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Subtract

by SlamBlasta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First LD for me! Not really looking to win anything, mostly just to finish something. I think it turned out alright, all things considered.
Click and drag mouse to reveal the hidden shapes!
Further instructions should be in the game.

Haven't tested it on mac/linux, but it's a runnable .jar, so it should work...

Edit: It totally doesn't work on mac/linux. Will fix asap
Edit 2: Sorry if the white text is difficult to read sometimes. If you find the text too hard to read, or just don't like the colors, close and reload the game. It generates a random hue each time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#624Audio2.59
#646Theme3.45
#650Innovation3.00
#1002Graphics2.45
#1003Mood2.40
#1143Overall2.55
#1263Fun1.95
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Couldn't get it to run on OSX 10.8 - might just be my java. I'll try reinstalling

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

This now works on 10.8 MacOS, for me anyway. I enjoyed it! Not sure how I feel about it overall, I think a delay at the end of each stage would help me know whether I'd done well or found the shape, etc. I really like the idea though. Nice work!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Thanks for the feedback! The pause after each level is a great idea. I know ludum dare is forgiving for small bugs, but it seems like more of a feature. I did fix the screen resolution, and game-over bugs though. Here is the version with a pause, if anybody is interested: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20401860/Subtract_fixed.jar

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Bit confused to start with, bit I figured it out and found it pretty interesting. Great idea.

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Huh, this is a lot of green ;) I like the idea! Sometimes it seems kind of unfair.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Really hard to read the text. Also, it seems like the best strategy is to just drag a box on the entire area :P

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

It's quite difficult to read the text and it seems extremely difficult to actually gain points. It's an interesting, simple concept though.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Box areas should definetly be limited, i was just boxing the whole screen : P

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

I don't understand this game. Why would anyone not select the entire screen to show the shape? Pressing space does nothing. There are two negative numbers in the top-left hand corner; what are they? On my second try I lost on the first level for no reason that I could see.
Nice sounds though.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

A cool idea, however, there's nothing stopping the player from simply dragging over the entire screen. A limit on the size you can make your rectangle would be nice. Other than that i enjoyed the concept and the reveal effect with the spacebar was really cool!

May 1, 2013 @ 9:27am

Congrats on your 1st LD.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

Nice concept! A rectangle size limit, as suggested, would be a good addition.

@all above: You can cover the whole screen, but you'll get a negative score.

euske says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44am

I didn't quite understand how the scoring works. But it's a neat idea. The sound was relaxing.

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great idea, but a bit confusing at first. I really liked the relaxing sounds, tough it really breaks that mood when you loose x)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:31am

The idea is nice, unfortunately it lacks clear score explaination and feedbacks allowing the player to make up a strategy (other than boxing the whole screen), the space bar doesn't seem very functionnal. It's quite hard to read the text too ! But you finished it, which isn't so easy for a first LD. Keep up !

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:07pm

I like the idea, though I had trouble figuring out how I might be able to score higher. Maybe some kind of feedback loop other than the score would help?

The color palettes are really lovely minimalist pastel selections.

My high score was -18866436.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I loved pretty much everything about this game :) Beautiful. Congrats!

OU GDA says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:57am

A bit laggy but congratz on getting a game finished and submitted (Something that is many times really hard to do).

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good idea, but it need more feedback or explanation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]