April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

make a binky

by soerensen3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make a binky is a game where you control a rabbit by typing commands into a command line. The only tricky thing is that the screen keeps moving faster and you have to avoid to get outside of the screen on either side. To make it a bit harder there are three kind of enemies which you should avoid as well.

List of possible commands:

start - will start a new game.
pause - will pause the current game or resume it if paused
set X Y - will set the rabbit to the position XY eg. set 500 50

And that's it.

As there are no skill levels you can change the difficulty by resizing the window. I didn't have much time, so there are probably lots of bugs, because i'm writing my bachelor thesis at the moment and im running out of time there but i wanted to submit a game anyway.
Have fun playing my first (finished) game!

P.S. Written with Lazarus (Free Pascal)
Sorry for no mac os code but i don't have a mac. Source works fine with linux though, so maybe it works with mac os as well.


And I forgot the rabbit is a painting by my niece. The monsters are a modification of the rabbit i made with inkscape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#184Humor2.97
#352Innovation3.39
#769Theme3.32
#962Mood2.46
#1015Fun2.45
#1054Audio1.44
#1074Overall2.65
#1108Graphics2.29

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Hahaha! That's a pretty sweet take on the theme. Great!

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

This made me smile. Thanks for making it!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Didn't think to resize the window, gets pretty hectic to keep up with after a while.

soerensen3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

thanks for all the comments so far, this is really encouraging so my first ludum dare most likely won't be my last!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Congrats on your 1st LD.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I liked the controls, definitely different than the other games. Being able to resize the window so much felt a bit cheating. Overall fun and unique!

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Very funny and innovative!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Could be great for teaching kids about Cartesian coordinates.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Were you too lazy to program your own game and let us do it? Haha, but seriously I like it. It would be cool to have even more commands

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Not sure about typing the location in to move the bunny, but it certainly gets challenging later on!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice idea and kinda funny being able to re-size the window xD

soerensen3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

i forgot to mention that similar to the terminal or command line you can use up down buttons to get the last typed command, so you don't need to type all of it again.
@sanguine: my first idea was actually that you had to make an own ai, by commands, but i thought it would be too complicated already, i wanted to finish something just once. ;)

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

Too funny, and surprisingly entertaining, actually. Excellent use of theme ;)

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:34am

congratz =)

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:57am

Nice. You could make this into typing teaching program by having the move command be a random word the player has to type correctly.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:35am

Cool idea. Could have used some variation to the gameplay

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Lol so silly XD You made me giggle.

ZYXer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Yay, made it over 5000 :D Never misspelled the word "set" so many times in my life xD
Really simple but addictive game. I like it!

petrocket says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Pretty funny - I can definitely feel the influence of the niece in the game. Would have been nice to have some kid like controls too (something that didn't involve typing) and some audio. This did make me smile too!

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Sweet rabbit. Original idea and different.

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Pretty original, I love terminal-related games and I love Pascal (nostalgia'd hard). Really really nice for a 48 hours game

May 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

A very interesting taking on the theme. Could do with a bit of sound

spriters2000 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Smart concept lol!

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Ha great game! I love that the "up key" restores the last command, just like on a real terminal :)

Good job and congratulation on finishing on your first LD!

f7f5 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Simple but interesting concept. Congratulations.

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:11pm

rather good application of the theme, I would prefer it if the 0 of y was at the bottom, it just feels odd increasing y to have the character move down

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Surprisingly fun :)

Norgg says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Haha, I think *technically* using a painting by your niece is against the rules, but it's adorable enough to get away with it.

This was really cool, really minimalist interpretation of the trade-off between being fast and requiring accuracy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]