April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

[My little game][+ or -]

by Toinane - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My little game [+ or -] is a minimalism game which use the cmd console.

I don't have Linux and OS/X... Therefor I don't know if my game is playable.

Thank's for playing my game !

I take all comments !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#416Theme3.67
#481Humor2.33
#639Mood2.79
#1230Overall2.39
#1238Fun2.00
#1307Innovation1.80
#1314Graphics1.72

Comments

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Well, *only* a number guessing game is a bit too minimalistic for my taste. There's just nothing creative in here.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Adorable little console game. And by far the smallest file size EVER at about 3kb. :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Really minimalistic. Also i'm surprised it's a .bat script, had to run virtualbox with windows to test it :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

This game fits the theme very well; you have a large range to search and you each guess you make can pretty much half it, so the player "minimizes" the game space until s/he gets it as small as possible. Very cool. It wasn't too fun as I could use the same strategy pretty much all the time and the result of this kind of game is more chance than skill based. But that just supports the theme even more so... Well done! Also using the command line is very minimal in a sense of what is running the game.

Toinane says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Thank's for your comments ! ^^
And yes, this game haven't creativity, but I started in the programming world ! Sorry, it's really basic game ^^"

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Props for dropping a .bat as a game XD

It won't run on Unix systems, you'll need to learn and use .sh which is the unix equivalent

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

This sort of game was one of the first I wrote in basic on my Apple IIe. Nostalgia!

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I think you nailed the theme... which unfortunately doesn't mean you made something enjoyable!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Great start. For a beginner this is pretty solid.

CheesyRamen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

This game by far takes the crown for humor :)
Also, it fits the theme perfectly hahaha

May 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

No Windows machine available, so I cannot rate this one.

Toinane says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Sorry for all utilisator of linux and ios =/

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:21am

Keep on batchin' mate :)
You're the third batch game I've seen in this compo (including mine)! Makes me wonder how many are there that I haven't found yet...

f7f5 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:31pm

well, it works and fits the theme :) Solid for a beginner, next time you can take some more risks ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]