April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tubulance

by merteor - Jam Entry

SEIZURE WARNING -
FLASHING BACKGROUNDS AND PATTERNS !!!

----
Due to feedback I've gotten I'm currently continuing development on Tubulance.
Follow on twitter for future updates: http://twitter.com/merteorDev
Version 1.2 UPDATED AFTER THE DEADLINE (May 3rd):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rpxid1mhzofpm6f/Tubulance%201.2.exe

Change notes: http://pastebin.com/vqRWAeNW
----


Intense. Infinite. And totally tubular.

A dodge-em-up/infinite racer played on the inside of a pseudo-3D tube - avoid the obstacles hurtling towards you. Two buttons, one level forever, and one type of obstacle arranged into twelwe unique patterns.


Play with arrows, or F+J, or D+L.

Alt+enter to fullscreen.

If you find the beginning too easy, use the Konami code to start at 30,000 points.


Influences: Super Hexagon, 2001: A Space Odyssey, F-Zero GX, T-Cav's drunk tweets, Starfox 64, Polybius, Stepmania, the double-slit experiment

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#5Fun(Jam)4.15
#14Overall(Jam)4.04
#36Audio(Jam)3.89
#122Graphics(Jam)3.78
#126Mood(Jam)3.43
#167Theme(Jam)3.57
#302Innovation(Jam)2.87
#319Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

BNeutral says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16am

10/10

tjernstrom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

TUBULAR!

TeamSleipnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Fine game, not really my type but good nonetheless.

ecbambrick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

hella tight

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Amazing =)

KR-Eddie says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:15pm

You know a game is going to be awesome when it comes with a seizure warning xD
Great job!

zanzindorf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:16pm

This is one of those games I could lose a fortune of quarters on. Nice job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Good job, Nice atmosphere. The same feeling that f-zero or proun (in an other style). Maybe a bit too hard ( not enough progressiv for me)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Amazing game! Very fast and smooth, I love the music! It's pretty hard too, My best score is 30.000, I'll keep trying ;)

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Nice game! Like the randomly alternating patterns. However, I would prefer if the difficulty was more progressive.

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Really nice visual style,awesome music and extremely infectious gameplay.

Hegemege says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Very nice and polished game, love the arcade touch. The soundtrack was epic and the visuals were stunning. One of my favorite arcade games, even though the controls are just a tiny bit too sensitive to my liking.

Claw says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:35am

This was awesome, most fun LD game I've played yet!

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:01am

This is a really good arcade game, and I totally get both F-Zero and (obviously) Super Hexagon. Some of the random waves are much harder than others, at least to me, so my progress was mostly based on which ones showed up. Also, I spent most of my time squinting at the center of the screen, wishing there was more detail there. But very polished and very fun. My high score was a measly 30372!

NateNaterson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:04am

This had a great aesthetic, I really got into it! I love the fast-paced gameplay.

DBRalir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:55am

Very awesome, I love this kind of game. However, like Tom 7, I spent a lot of time squinting. Maybe you could apply a visual effect to make far objects look bigger. Other than that, incredible game. One of the best.

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:04am

I found your game extremely addictive and fun, I would like the patterns to be generated in a way that can be trespassed, or at least, not that impossible to achieve XD,

merteor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Thanks for the comments everyone!
I've decided to keep working on this game to make it bigger.

Tom 7 and DBRalir: I agree, I'll work on something to make them appear bigger at first than just a few pixels.

juaxix: I have tested EVERY pattern extensively, making sure that they're not randomly unpassable. No pattern is impossible, trust me, if you're quickly reacting to things spawning in the middle. At least not at speeds below 4-500. This guy even reached 800 speed: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQOzuvCLbiY

Broxxar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:57pm

One of the best games I've played. Really well done.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56pm

The camera option is clogged with the high score and it's not possible to change it on restart (after choosing fluxed view). Nice audio and game speed. The player camera is much better than the fluxed one. Good job!

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:30pm

crazy! I'll check OST because I'm so bad and die soon xD
Nice entry

fueelin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Excellent game. Really fun to play. If the battery on my laptop wasn't about to die I'd still be playing!

brxtr says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:14pm

First of all, I love the music; it got me really pumped for this style of game. The way the player has to stare down the middle of the tube is cool and works really well, although it means it's almost impossible to look at any of the HUD elements, because they're so far from the centre of the screen. I like the variation in pattern styles and they're fun to negotiate, although some seem ridiculously hard and the progression doesn't feel very balanced from game to game.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:09am

nicely done! I like that you've set up the gameplay and speed to make it unoptimal to look at obstacles as they approach your ship and it instead kinda forces you to look ahead

gerritg says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Wow, now this is fun. One of my favorites this LD.

May 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I'm really a noob at that kind of game, but it was fun and clean(good mark for you ^^)

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:11am

Music and sound effects were awesome, and the game is very addicting.
How did you make patterns, I wonder? Did you code them separately, or just made one function and it`s running it with different parameters?

tudd says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:29pm

YES

My only problem is the colors clashed with each other too much

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]