April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

HAX

by Andrewves - Jam Entry

Unfortunately i only had time to spend around a day and a half on this but I'm happy with how it turned out.

In the game you are a computer virus that has to collect data from streams to attack a PC with, anti virus streams also fly by that you must dodge or risk data. There are 4 different forms the player changes too as you gain data, with the final being at 2500mb.

Controls: Up and down arrow keys or W,S to move, right arrow or D to dash and escape to pause.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Innovation(Jam)3.00
#278Humor(Jam)2.11
#344Mood(Jam)2.71
#361Theme(Jam)3.03
#368Fun(Jam)2.66
#374Overall(Jam)2.87
#417Graphics(Jam)2.69
#460Audio(Jam)1.35
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

That was surprisingly fun; and the difficulty ramped nicely at the end. At first I thought it was just going to be boring, but I started to get emotionally involved at the end! cool! This also reminds me of "music video" animation thing I did in college. Yay =D

fpMiguel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Would be nice as a mini-game!

dx0ne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I'm a sucker for "haxory" games/themes. This was quite fun. Nice entry.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Lovely idea!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56am

Interesting take on theme and hacking. Thanks!

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03am

Nice graphics.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05am

nice concept, riding the data waves

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46am

The space invaders dude looked great, and I liked the data explosion at the end when you reach the computer.

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

fun game, well done - I liked everything about it, although it could use some fast paced music.

the difficulty ramped up nicely and the changing space invader sprite is a great idea

well done :)

shinestrength says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

Nice! I was playing it at first not realising I could go up or down freely, and thought I was jumping between each line. Once I realised I could just go up or down freely - it became a lot easier. :D

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

Simple idea and nice realisation. I would love a much higher difficulty (like at the end of the level).
Nice!

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47am

I liked it!
Could be nice to add a boost, or make the level shorter.
Funny idea :)

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Neat idea, I couldn't get the "dash" ability to work though. :/ Some music and sound effects would've been nice. I liked that it became harder the further you traveled.

voidstar69 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice idea. Dodging the red lines got progressively more difficult. Using right arrow or D to dash didn't seem to have any effect on the game though.

Holofire says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Interesting. Didnt find it that fun or challenging. Nice work anyway.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Fun to play. Nice and Simple. One of the best games I've seen so far.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]