April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini(malistic) Tank Battles

by Toestee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WAD to control movement
Mouse to control turret
Shift to boost
Space to fly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#288Fun3.29
#434Humor2.41
#489Graphics3.12
#610Overall3.12
#690Audio2.47
#732Mood2.71
#840Theme3.24
#855Innovation2.73

Comments

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

Flying tank! Awesome!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

I liked the idea for the grayscale graphics. However, I would love to be able to also use the cursor keys to move the tank around (I use the mouse with my left hand). i don't know why, but the rockets didn't make the tank fly, but I could jump alright.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

jumping and flying tanks. This is something all games need more of. Nice job. fun game.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

Simple and fun! That freaking copter kept killing me though :P

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54am

That was great fun! Flyin freakin tanks!!

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

This has amazing potential. Keep working on it. Good stuff!

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

I loved it. I like the way you can break and make way point to climb up by jumping. The bullets could be a little faster though so it wouldn't look like wind effected particles. Overall, excellent!

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

That was fun :D Flying tanks are fun to drive. The destructible terrain was a nice touch.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Really liked this one. Being able to jump with a tank is always a plus. Take that, helicopter!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I like the style :D, and is always awesome a flying tank xD

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Has a great kind of visceral fun to it. The music doesn't quite match the mood though.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:15am

Very original mechanics, nice graphics and it was fun to play. Never flied with tanks before this game! Loved destroying the enviroment, too. :D

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:01pm

A Flying tank, nice!
Its fun to play. I really like the destructable environment.

Good job.

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:04pm

It was a cool little game - I particularly liked how the blue jets were the only colorful thing in the whole game. It felt a bit weird controlling a jetpack-wielding tank with infinite fuel, but I'll give that a pass in the name of cool :-)

I found it a bit hard to judge the physics of the bullets correctly - maybe make the bullets stand out a bit more?

Nice particle effects! Thanks for the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]