April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

360

by ShellfishGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

360 is a minimalistic singleplayer puzzle-platformer for Windows. Using a very small toolset, the player solves a variety of puzzles centered around gravity and momentum.

Unfortunately I totally forgot about Ludum Dare and only remembered it on Sunday morning. Consequently this is not really a 48-hour-entry but more of a 12-hour one, but still, I'm kind of satisfied with the results. It doesn't get that much more minimalistic...
The game is pretty small, so one playthrough probably requires about 15 minutes or less.

Note: Requires DirectX 9.0c to run

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#205Fun3.43
#361Overall3.37
#590Theme3.50
#621Innovation3.04
#880Mood2.56
#889Audio2.11
#934Graphics2.56
#998Humor1.60

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I uploaded a video playthrough to Youtube - you can watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISZbNJoNFKI&hd=1

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I get an error about a missing DLL file, and it won't let me open the game :(

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Had some fun with this. I dig the mechanics and feel the puzzles complement them pretty well.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56am

Simple, nice and funny. Good job!

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

pretty game

Ditto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:07am

I really like this! It feels really good to flip gravity like crazy to complete some of the levels! Only problem I have is that it's hard to orient when there is no background : P

May 1, 2013 @ 11:28am

@SamPotasz, what DLL is missing exactly?

@all of you - thanks for playing, I'm glad that you like it.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:49am

Dude, I actually love this game.

It's hard, but the type of hard where you know it's your own fault for failing, because the game mechanics are so tight. I ended up using this orbiting technique spinning really fast to slow myself down and get to other places.

The last level felt like it was in the wrong order, like.. by the time I had done the level with the three switches and the two red boxes it was really easy to just do the last level without pressing switches at all.

I just wish it was longer! I love hard games. But yeah, great work man.

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very cool game and clever puzzles! Order of the puzzles could be improved. Found the 7th much harder than the 8th and 9th. Well done!

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Clever game, works really good with the theme as well.

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

It says "Display at 32 bit it's not supported by avaible hardware on line 19", didn't rated.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I'm a sucker for these kinds of games. I would have been perfectly happy if the theme had turned out to be Alternate Physics.

Game is challenging and satisfying, the two most important aspects of a jumper game. A longer game would need more kinds of puzzle elements than just the black switches and red kill zones, but for the length that it spans they work well. Only complaint I'd have would be some kind of background so you can navigate more easily, and kill zones at the edges so you know when you fall out of the level.

Good game :)

May 1, 2013 @ 1:48pm

infernet89, that problem can probably be solved by using another screen resolution, which can be changed in the settings.txt file (first two lines represent display width and height, default is 1280x800). Sorry for the inconvenience!

And again, thank you for all the positive feedback and helpful criticism.

onzephyr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

well implemented mechanic. Thats got a great feel to it. A background or landmarks of sorts to help the player know direction to orientate is the only addition I found I wanted.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Can't play, have a mac.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Very good for 12 hours, and well balanced. This surely fits the them as well, congratz!

May 2, 2013 @ 12:04pm

good game i love the concept

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Considering this was completed in 12 hours, it's a pretty solid platformer. The lack of obvious boundaries is a bit irritating, but otherwise the level design is nice and the animations for levels extending/retracting was surprisingly slick. Good job.

JimmyLord says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Fun, enjoyed the puzzles, none were too frustrating, could use dynamic zoom to help orient when moving fast/flipping, especially on the level with the 2 red boxes.

May 2, 2013 @ 1:25pm

@JimmyLord - indeed, the code for dynamic zooming was even there, actually I wanted to let the player define the zoom factor but simply forgot to implement that feature in time. =/

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Quite nice game. Could use a bit more polish with music but the puzzles are really nice.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:14am

Pretty neat concept! I thought this was a great entry. I had a lot of fun playing, and figuring out the mechanics. That level with the two red boxes is angering. Haha. Good work :)

May 3, 2013 @ 1:16am

Ahhh it's great to see a DBPro game.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:20am

Ahhh it's great to see a DBPro game. I used to use it but now I'm a Unity guy.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:18am

Simple, efficient. Could use some polish (nothing surprising for a 12h game tho) by putting boundaries and less... greenish... text :D but overall I enjoyed it. Well done :)

TheColorMan says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Great game! I thought it was fun

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Good job!
Despite minimalistic gameplay, I enjoyed with your level design and game mechanics.
Thanks for entry!

Skulls says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:48am

Cool game, basically a simplified version of And Yet It Moves.

shohs says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:08am

Pretty good game, especially since it was made in 12 hours. Good job!

May 9, 2013 @ 11:40am

Very nicely done! Was very fun and made me complete the whole game in the first run! Giving it high points. :)

Sorry about the last action in my game - was thinking about doing it the way you suggested but felt to keep to the statement that a lack of actions is a lack of life. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]