April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Tower

by MagiMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One tower versus one evolving enemy. Survive as long as possible.

Click on the bridges to attempt to destroy them. Click elsewhere to target the enemy again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#928Graphics2.57
#931Audio2.00
#956Theme3.09
#1002Humor1.58
#1009Fun2.46
#1013Overall2.72
#1070Mood2.31
#1213Innovation2.09

Comments

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

simple tower game, nice entry though

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Needs more enemies!

Good effort though mate!

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

a bit slow perhaps, but interesting idea and great minimalism!

Winterblood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

Nice reduction to basics, but needs balancing - I survived 124 rounds on my first go, took over half an hour :) Difficulty should ramp up faster IMHO. I like the option to shoot out bridges.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I liked the random (or reasonably extensive) enemy shape design.

It starts off incredibly slowly and takes quite some time to build to an interesting pace but even then enemies seem to be limited to one at a time which makes the concept of any of them reaching the tower quite unrealistic and pushes a game with potential into the realm of wasting it.

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

I'm starting to rethink the one-enemy-at-a-time thing. Besides what's already been mentioned, the evolution of the enemies would probably work better if there were more of them. (On the other hand, it'd be less in line with the contest theme, so it'd probably be better to improve the single enemy balance.)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

It's quite slow to progress, and the creatures characteristics feel more or less random to me, which have nice shapes though. It's a good base for something which could be refined more to make it a bit more interesting. :)

LemonTree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Great idea!

MaxguN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Quite addictive. Fun to play but, well, i'd see it with more ennemies/features (but that wouldn't suit the theme ^^). Well done :)

radmars says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:45am

a really great start, I think the ramp up at the beginning takes a bit too long though, i think speeding up those early levels would do wonders. solid entry :D

itsZN says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:01am

I like how you only have one tower. Nice job

csanyk says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:13am

Didn't ever feel challenging. The lone enemy never stood a chance.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]