April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Euphoria

by IceCliff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The soul is minimalist. You play as a dying child splitting between their memories and their soul trying to make it to the afterlife. The story is set in silence. All you have to listen to are your own thoughts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#261Mood3.25
#408Graphics3.25
#739Innovation2.90
#848Overall2.90
#997Fun2.48
#1043Humor1.44
#1194Theme2.71

Comments

IceCliff says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:09am

The link is down so here's a working one. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/40650694/Euphoria.rar

IceCliff says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Fixed the link issue!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Good aesthetics. I like your idea a lot.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Not able to play a Windows build, so I can't rate this one.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

The mood was very nice, the controls were a bit iffy (strafing would have been a big help), and some of the gameplay elements, like the monsters, didn't seem all there. Impressive graphics for a 48h jam!

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Well that was kind of a trip. You definitely have a knack for mood and tone. Good job!

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29pm

The idea is nice, but you need to work on your transitions. I missed most of the initial text, because the screens were changing suddenly while I was still getting used to the world - also the lack of transitions between the different scenes and "phase shifts" made the game look a bit glitchy.

A simple way to implement, for example, a fade-in/out is to draw a rectangle over the whole screen and slowly change its alpha value :-)

Cheers, and hope to see you next LD!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

This is a fun game, very interesting! I would like to see what you could do in one Month or longer!

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Can't play, have a mac. I really want to as well, the visuals look pretty neat!

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Interesting, I like what you have going with the narrative, not enough time to read them at times though.

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18pm

the movement was rather difficult to use and there was some odd transparency from the suspended rail thing but it still looked rather nice and was a good idea

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

The game feels a bit glitchy, but I like the narrative. I'm impressed you made this in 48 hours!

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Everyone on this site is so nice! Thank you all for the support. I may carry on with this game when the competition is done :)

Msquirrel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I really liked the idea, the controls felt a little sticky and hard to work with, also, I think the collision detection was a little off for some things (like monsters?) anyway, real impressive for 48 hours good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Short and sweet. Annoying to phase shift onto a monster though.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16pm

This was awesome, loved it. The tone and mood was awesome, and the 3d models were all great. Cool core game mechanic, the graphics and theme really fit the theme of the LD, and the narrative was well put together.

Nice one.

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Great atmosphere, but I hated the clunky controls.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

interesting graphic =)

jackspinoza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:12pm

great interesting aesthetic, kind of drew me into the game-world, super big beast design. nice work.

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27am

The game had a nice atmosphere. I loved the big red supermonsters.

It often was unclear to me what it was I was supposed to do. Some extra pointers would be handy, I think.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Nice mood. The world needs more "games" like this.

wzl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Interesting graphic style. Nicely executed. But i guess the story was too meta for me. The automated transitions didn't really help reading all the text either. Good effort for 48hours!

Also i fixed my entry, if you wanna check it out again, it should work now :)

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:06am

Excelent mood... the story parts would go too fast sometimes to be able to read, but it has potential to be carried on, I'd say!

Orni says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:04pm

wow, I loved this game - the visual style and storytelling is great!

don't forget to provide your source code (required for participating in LD compo) ;)

very well done

IceCliff says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Thank you for pointing that out, I thought I had it in the folder. Will fix that up when I get home!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]